Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
For starters, this is a fabulous recipe, the best I have ever had. These are the changes I made: I slightly melted the lard in the microwave for easier mixing instead of fluffing it with the beater, it worked out very well. I also cooked a boston butte pork roast instead of loin, and I cooked it in the crock pot. I added a bit more salt, a tablespoon of cumin and chili powder to the meat mix after tasting it and it came out perfect. The masa was very moist and tasty, perfect salt to masa ratio on the recipe. Since I quadrupled the recipe, it took me all day to cook them, but I used the masa recipe to make some bean and jalapeno tamales, too. My two teenage boys couldn't get enough of them, gobbled them up as they were coming out of the pot. It was a very lost cost recipe compared to the amount of meals I got out of it, freezing recommended if holding longer than 4 days. I will try this with chicken next time, and even beef when the price of beef goes down a little. Try the masa recipe with a chunk of mozzarella cheese stick and a slice of pickled jalapeno instead of meat, very good! I cut the cheese stick down the middle to make it more narrow, and layed it in the middle of the masa, then put a strip of jalapeno next to it. Wow, these are very tasty and economical, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Loved it! I made 24 count and I used 24oz of broth and cooked them for 2 .5 hrs. I covered the Tamales with corn husks and a cloth to keep moisture in. Deliciosos Tamales!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedGem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Although I made some minor modifications, this was a great first experience making tamales. The meat was nicely spiced but not hot--my picky, heat-wimp 9-year old loved them as did everyone else. To the 1.25# pork loin, I added 1/2 chopped onion, 1/2 (7oz) can of diced chiles, 2 garlic cloves pressed, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp chile powder, 3 shakes of cayenne pepper and a Tbsp or more of Cholula Hot Sauce. Note that this is a toned down version of Charley's Mexican Meat recipe (aka "Atomic Meat") but same ingredients. I ended up making a double batch of dough since I was also making some tamales without meat. Into the meatless ones, I combined diced chiles (rest of can), grated sharp cheddar and same spices in meat but slightly less since there was less volume. I used 1/4 cup of grease from sausage made this morning + vegetable shortening instead of lard (1/3 cup for each cup of masa). I used juices from cooked meat instead of broth and omitted the sour cream. The corn was moist and the fillings were flavorful. My entire family was impressed and we had fun making them. Toughest part was making sure the steamer water didn't boil away. Use a coin in the bottom that rattles when the water boils (stops when water is gone). I served with 505 Green Chili warmed. Yum! LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Prather Hanley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niwot, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This recipe was very easy to follow. I replaced plain water with the broth made by boiling the pork meat (cooked onion and all) when making my chili mixture and added extra dried chile pods to thicken the sauce so there was no need to strain. This added extra flavor to the meat when mixed in together. My family just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I am usually not one to write reviews. But me and my family make tamales every year. 30 some dozen... The red chile sauce... California and new mexico chile pods, garlic, cummings, salt and pepper. We pour hot boiling water over the clean and seeded pods and let sit till plumped. Add pods 4 at a time to a blender, 2 garlic cloves, salt, pepper and 1/2 tsp cummings seeds. Use some water from the chile pods so it will blend. Do this about 4 times. Put threw a sive. Warm the sauce in a pot and bring to simmer. Don't boil. Chile sauce becomes hotter (taste) as you cook it. you may add some ground chile powder if you want. Cool sauce and add to meat. Also add a little sauce to your masa for extra flavor, along with juice from the meat. Also salt your masa. When steaming them you will lose the salt in them. Never add sour cream to the masa. Work your masa (blend) very good, this can take up to 20 minutes by hand. Your tamales will come out fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This is excellent!! But we have made tamales for 60 yrs. We always do a pork roast and a beef roast. Shred them together. Much better flavor we think. Also we half black olives and put in mixture. Just some added flavor we could not do without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Sounds delicious! I've made tamales plenty of times but never on such a small scale! When we make tamales we mix up to thirty pounds of masa, we use spicy chicken, pork meat and beans with jalapeno and cream cheese! We end up with lots of tamales! Lol! Thanks to SADDIECAT, I'll be able to make a bit when I get the craving! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Awesome recipe. Have made several times. My whole family loves them. It'd recommended doubling or tripling the chili sauce so that you have extra to mix into the sour cream or just pour on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was incredible! It is very time consuming however, so don't plan to whip it together an hour before dinner. Read the other reviews to get ideas and then add your own touches for a simply incredible experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Just like I remembered!!! Just dont add the lard if your broth is hot..Messes the constancy something awful until it cools. We added olives :) Will use again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States