Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was a great basic recipe. I used store bought prepared masa (from the Mexican supermarket) and cooked the pork as directed but added cumin, black pepper, salt, bay leaf and more garlic to the cooking water. I also seasoned the chile sauce with cumin, black pepper and onion powder. My hubby and I had our own little "tamalada" and spent an hour or so assembling these. It was fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
this is a great recipe i made my first batch following the recipe to the T. My second batch I made using my mom's tips. I quadrudpled the recipe, subbing one cup of Maseca with flour. I didn't use lard I used oil and added about half a cup of the chili sauce to the masa. This makes the masa super fluffy and extra tasty. I make my tamales the traditional mexican way. I spread the masa then fold in one side bring up the middle and finishing rolling (imagine the husk as a triangle with the point being the "middle" part). It saves time from having to cut strips to tie the tamales.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
First time I made tamales! Very good. I cooked a pork tenderloin overnight with extra spices as suggested. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I am from New Mexico and this is almost what me and my family have done for years. The only changes I would make is: The chile should taste good enough to eat on its own. When you make chile, I would add garlic and salt to taste. I also let the meat and chile marinate for at least 2 days. Also you should put the meat in crock-pot with water filled all the way to the top and cook until the meat falls apart, at least 6-8 hours depending on the size. Save the juice that is from the crock-pot to use to make the dough. You may also need more broth so you can make the dough to a really think pudding, or really creamy peanut butter. It needs to spread really nice. To cook, I would just lay the tamales on top of each other on top of in inverted aluminum pan with a few holes poked in it on and then place a glass plate on top of that and add water up to the plate, then start stacking the tamales. Good luck and happy cooking!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Fabulous flavor - my family gives this recipe 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Excellent, I had never made tamales before and I'm happy to say they came out beautiful. I'm going to make these for my family this Christmas. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Thank you I have been searching for the recipe for the masa for tamales on the internet. I used to make them to sell. But it has been a while and couldn't remember if I used 1/3c of lard or 2/3. By the way I always tripled the amount of salt in the masa. All of my customers said it was better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Wow!! Many thanks for sharing. I always wanted to make tamales but was hesitant because I heard how time consuming they were. Just wanted to let you know that they were worth every minute of my time! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Well after I did the recipe it tasted like something was missing oh well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toneya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I used the reduced liquid from cooking my pork instead of the beef broth. I thought I'd failed this miserably because after the steam time they were mushy. I opened some up and chopped and "cooked" them in a fry pan and called it tamale hash. Tasty but not too visual. I tossed the rest in the fridge to deal with later. Next day I took them out to play with and they were perfect. Think maybe I just had too much water in the steamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States