Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Mrs Gail
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
These were the first tamales I ever made! They turned out very nice and very mild spice wise. My family reallyenjoyed them even the 3 year old. You will need extra help for this batch, it was work! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Gail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I just made tamales!! I messed around with the filling a bit and boiled the pork in water and chile powder as Rick Bayless suggests. But the rest of the recipe I followed exactly and they were awesome! Very tender, well cooked. I was worried about the "unwrapping", but they held together beautifully. Made me feel like I'd really done something! Thanks for hanging out in the grocery store and asking all the questions for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBKINCAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I think is super! I made some changes based on what I had at home. I made bbq pulled pork a couple days ago and used the leftovers also added chiptole powder and used can of green chilies and a can of diced toms (other tamales I've made had roasted tomatoes). Also I used chicken broth instead of beef. Added a little mexican oregano and thyme. The filing was a a little dry so I added more broth. From what I ve been told before it should resemeble a little thincker than cake batter. Also was out of corn husks and HATE rolling them. Found a super great tip....I used COFFEE FILTERS. Asthetically not authentic, but super easya dn still tastes the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Time consuming but they came out so good, this was my first time. The one thing I did was peel off the skin off the chili peppers after they cooled down, that way you don't have to strain it. I also added some New Mexico red powder chili to the blended chili mixture for added flavor and heat. I will make these tamales again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These turned out great! Not a lot of actual work just a lot of time waiting for things to be done so if you've got a whole day free, I'd say go for it! I used a beef roast and roasted with a can of vegetable broth, onion, and a few cloves of garlic. I put all the juices, onion, and garlic from the roasting pan in a blender and liquified it, adding about a cup of water. I used that liquid for my dough instead of a can of beef broth. I don't have a steamer big enough so I used a metal colander in a big pot. Covered with a couple kitchen towels and then a lid. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Changed a couple of things based on other reviewers comments: 1. Cooked the pork with more garlic and added cumin seeds and ground oregano. Used chicken broth instead of water. 2. Used the cooled and strained broth from cooking the pork to make the masa. Used about 4 cups to make the consistency right. I've made tamales before (mind you from another recipe online because I'm not Mexican at all) and they turned out ok. My fiance is Mexican and whenever I try to make any Mexican dish, he starts to cringe because I simply had no exposure to it. So I attempted this recipe with the above modifications and got rave reviews from my whole family including him!!! And as another reviewer says, it is on the maseca bag for the tamale masa. It helps because you don't have to carry the recipe around with you because it's already going to be in the grocery cart. DEFINITELY will make again (possibly make a bunch and freeze to prepare for my wedding).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is so easy! Quick changes: 1) I cooked meat in the croc pot for almost two days with a whole onion, four cloves, cumin, and cajun seasoning (like a seasoned salt), covered with water. It made the meat super tender. 2) I mixed almost two cups of the "marinade" from the meat (croc pot) with the chile mixture in the blender with onion powder and garlic salt. Very good. 3) I used a LOT of juice left over from meat for the masa mixture. I had to use an extra cup of beef boulloin. 5) I doubled the masa mixture and used 3lbs of pork. 4) I mixed all the chile sauce that I made with the pork and put INTO husks/tamales instead of leaving some for on top. I think this was much better this way... less dry. 5) I put fat amounts of masa mixture and lots of meat mixture in each husk. My tamales were chunky! :-) 6) I steamed in a regular pot, layed flat, for 30 min. I had made the chile sauce and meat in one day. The next day I started the masa and assembly at three and we ate dinner by 5:30. These are easy easy easy! Will definitely make again. Thank you so much for this recipe! The best one I've found on allrecipes! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Good base recipe. Could use more flavor and I will be searching for ways to enhance both the filling and the tamale dough. But this is well written and offers advice on what to do exactly where you need it! Note - following other reviewers I used Maseca brand masa harina and this is the recipe shared on that bag. Nonetheless, Saddicat does throw in helpful tidbits that Maseca does not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My husband is from Mexico and his sister gave me some pointers on making tamales. I now have my own way in combination with hers. She lives in Chicago where you can find fresh masa in which it is already wet and you just add salt, broth, melted lard, and some baking powder. I don't have that priveledge. So I use the masa mix and I like to beat the lard with a little of the broth and salt till its light and whipped before adding the masa and the additional broth. This brings in a little more lightness to the masa. Also make sure to salt the masa well, I taste mine wet, but have also done the microwave test. It is not necessary to tie off the tamales or stand them up. Instead, try to put a thin layer of masa over the entire husk and only put a strip of filling down the middle, fold in one side, bottom up then the other side, and pinch the open end shut. If you season your masa properly then you will enjoy all the extra left on the husk. Tamales are time sonsuming because of their prep time, they do not take that long to cook. It typically takes 1 to 1 1/2 hours. To check them, c if the husk will pull away from the masa clean, if it is still sticking, let them cook a little longer. Remember that the masa will still look wet and jelly like and will set as they cool. I think they are better as leftovers. Freeze your leftovers in a baggie. For a really quick cook time, try them in your microwave steamer, takes about 8- 10 min. Just make sure the waters hot before you put them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Used this for Christmas and was impressed. The pork filling was raved about. A bit spicy for children but adults loved it with the chiliheads adding hot sauce but everyone else leaving it as is. I couldn't find lard, thus used shortening instead. So I tripled and replaced the plain salt in the masa portion with garlic salt for flavor. I'll rate again after finding lard. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOWARRIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States