Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I looked for a very long time for the perfect tamale recipe. Thanks to you, my search has ended LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I made 1/2 with pork and 1/2 with chicken. Both were absolutely delicious. The chile sauce was just awful. Not sure if the dried chiles were poor quality or the recipe but it had no flavor, all we could taste was salt. Highly recommend cooking the meats a day ahead of time and if possible working with at least one other person. Less tiresome to make the tamales. It is not hard just time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I only used the recipe for the dough and it was delicious!!!!!!!! Best i've ever made. I tweaked it a little by adding yeast to make it more bread like. Again best I have EVER made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
We made tamales for our church Christmas dinner. We made over 200 tamales following this recipe we used Maseca brand masa harina for the dough and we followed thair directions for that but I just want to say that the tamales were awesome. The next day we had tamale left overs for lunch after our Christmas church service.By the way tamales are always better the day after heat them up on the comal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe, and very close to authentic. I am 3rd generation Mexican, and have been looking for that perfect homecooked recipe. I did slowcook the pork overnight on low and added some ground cumin and adobo, with a little extra garlic. Use the broth for the masa and use your hands it is much easier. I also added cumin, garlic salt, and adobo in the masa for a little more flavor. As all tamales it is time consuming, but unbelievabley yummy. Thanks so much for helping me recreate a favorite memory. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
The BEST dough recipe! Awesome! Don't let the lard scare you. It is a must....no worse than shortening, but it makes a HUGE difference! Really whip it up for a light, fluffy dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Wailuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
my bf from spain and his brother's gf is from el salvador. she makes tamales all the time and their soooo good. these tamales are dry and have little flavor. i plan on asking her for the recipe and posting it so you know what they should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
i would make double the masa as the amount of meat you have if you want to do that much. but really that recipe makes a TON of tamales. i kept in the seeds to make them hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
The directions for preparing the Masa are right on. It's a lot easier than you would expect. To simplify the meat preparation I simply used boiled chicken with monterey jack or queso fresco cheese. The chile preparation is also easy. I added a bay leaf and oregano (remove the bay leaf and add one teaspoon of lemon juice before you blend it). Don't expect a great flavor. The chile is meant to be concentrated so it will taste horrible (very woody and grainy). But when it steams with the masa and meat the end product is wonderful. Placing the masa in the husks is a challenge, be patient. Although, I didn't want to, I had to use extra husk strips to tie the tamales. They kept seeping out in the steamer and would fall apart when I attempted to move them. The last thing you want is wet masa on the bottom of your steamer. I also found the steaming to take ALOT longer. In my case (I've made it 3 times) the steaming took between 2.5-3 hours. I guess it depends on the type of steamer you use. It helps to cover the bottom, sides, and eventually top (once the tamales are in) with extra corn husks. This keeps the tamales dry as you add extra water during the steaming process. It also helps with clean up later. I also put a coin at the bottom of the steamer (when the coin stops clanking, you know that your near the end of water and need to refill it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
799 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cocoakay
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I only eat Meican food, not cook it so I read the reviews first and follow many suggestions. They turn out great. I went to other web sites to get an idea how to fold the corn the husks. I went to a few stores to find the spredder mentioned in one review but couldn't find it. The valentine hot sauce is very cheap and very hot ( mentioned in early review) but this sauce will always be handy to speed the receipt up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States