Real Homemade Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I gave this recipe only 3 stars because it was just waaaayyyy too fiddley to make. The meat mixture was very good but the dough was too sticky and it was impossible to find corn husks. Made about 10 and that was enough for me. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Stef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Delicious! Very authentic taste and my wife and I had fun making them together. I will say that we wish we had made more as they didn't last too long, and the left-over as just as good as fresh! Looking forward to making more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren & Mary Murray

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
A little hard to follow the directions... I had to "google" for some clarifications on how to fold the tamale. The flavor was great but the masa ended up too dry. I reccomend adding at least 1/4 cup + or more to the dough. As another reviewer said, it should spread like peanut butter. This recipe as is did not. I added a lot more broth as suggested and it was still a bit dry. I cooked the meat in a slow cooker on HIGH for 4 hours then on low 2 hours with chicken broth, garlic, onion, salt and pepper. The meat came out amazing. I used the juice from this for the masa dough. I only needed to steam them for 1 hour and 30 minutes. In general, Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Really good. They tasted just like the ones I order in Mexican restaurants. I did use Crisco instead of lard. This was a suggestion from a collegue who comes from a Mexican family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
These tamales were the BEST!!! My boyfriend swore I bought them at the store and just heated them up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolisha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
yes oh yes! this was sensational! thank you thank you thank you!!!! i diddnt change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I thought I would try making tamales with beef broth but my family and I prefer them with just water. That could be because that's how we've always eaten them. I didn't even like how the broth made them brown in color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
very easy to understand. First time my husband loved them. I've made them a couple more times and every one who has eaten them wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Followed the recipe for the filling. Exactly how I would make it with my grandma when I was a kid. But for the masa, just used salt, water, lard; as this was how my mexican family would always make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geppetto DeVitis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AliciaVR6
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
WOW - I had always thought tamales were hard to make and it hadn't even crossed my mind to attempt it til I saw this recipe and from start to finish, only took an hour and a half (including cooking time), because we didn't cook any meat. I used vegetable shortening, vegetable broth and as the filling, black beans with el pato sauce, cumin, garlic salt & onion powder simmered on the stove for 5 mins, as well as a julienne slice of monterey jack. I also mixed a few tablespoons of the el pato into the dough for flavor, which didn't change the color much. As expected without meat, they were a TAD on the dry side but still great, especially with some el pato sauce on the side. I did need to use about 1/4 c. more broth than the recipe called for. I steamed these in a pot with rack for 1 hour and they were definitely done after that hour, but only did 12 or so at a time. They kept their shape when unrolled, and looked great! This made about 24 tamales for me. OH one more thing, don't even bother using a spoon to spread the dough on the husk, it's MUCH easier just using your fingers to press it down, the dough has lots of fat so it doesn't stick to your hands. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States