REAL Homemade Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. SO DISAPPOINTED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I think the omission of the sugar in this recipe has got to be a mistake. All pies are made from sugar pumpkins or other sweet varieties intended for baking - search around for other fresh pumpkin recipes and you will see that. You either need to add sugar if you are using evaporated milk or you can use sweetened condensed milk in place of the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I think this recipe was easy & delicious, Of course there's no sugar...It calls for a sugar pumpkin which it naturally sweet, I added sugar gradually until I got the sweetness I liked..The milk was perfect, my pies came out wonderful..great recipe and great tasting!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Classic fresh pumpkin pie recipes (be sure to compare ingredients as there are several others here on AR) use 2C pumpkin/2 eggs/spices/ 1C brown sugar to make ONE deep dish 9 inch pie. The spice mixture is off compared to other similar recipes which yields the bitter taste some are referring to. Also appears this recipe forgot the sugar (and YES you still add sugar when using a 'sugar pumpkin') and attempts to stretch the ingredients to make 2 pies by using perhaps eggs/milk and shallow pan pies. The volume of a deep dish pie (tradionally used for this) is considerably larger then the shallow pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Very Bitter - looks like the recipe forgot the sugar or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Just a tidbit of info I found. Most pumpkins commonly sold are large, grainy squash, they're not really intended for human consumption. Pie pumpkins are smaller, sweeter, less grainy textured pumpkins. This is likely the explanation for your need of extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I should have read the reviews first! This is not sweet at all. Perhaps the original recipe was for "sweetened condensed" milk, not evaporated, or else someone forgot the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Just a note before you make it...the recipe should specified SWEETENED condensed milk. That's where the sugar comes from. My guess is that the folks who hated this pie bought the unsweetened kind unknowingly. Otherwise, the recipe is good and simple. Specifying how much pumpkin (in cups) should be used would also help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This recipe calls for A SUGAR PUMPKIN. I bake my own pumpkin in the oven for my pies. I add sugar because I use a regular pumpkin. If I used a sugar pumpkin then I would not add sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I noticed before I started that there was no sugar! I added sugar to taste. Hopefully it turns out. It is still in the oven as I am writing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States