Real Homemade Bologna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Curing salt contains salt, sugar, nitrites, and nitrates. The nitrites and nitrates cure the ground meat; without them, you have fresh sausage which should be used within a few days. Tender Quick is not the same as table, sea, kosher, etc. If you used table salt in this recipe, you have a very salty fresh sausage. One tablespoon of Morton Tender Quick is the usual amount used per pound of meat. If you order Instacure online and use it instead of the Tender Quick, you can then adjust the amount of salt and still have a cured bologna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I scaled the recipe back to 16 servings so you only need 2 lbs of hamburger and i made it in a loaf pan and cooked it to an internal temperature of 160 which took abought 1-/12 hrs @ 300 and it turned out very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have not tried it yet but I have made summer sausage out of amost the same recipe and it's mmm mmm good! So I'm excited to try it. For all you people that CAN'T read directions...you need to use tender quick CURING salt, not sea salt, not iodized salt. That's why your stuff is so salty...duh, idiots. It's NOT the same at all. Use the correct ingredients and you get the results you're looking for. The bologna we buy now is JUNK...real bologna back in the day was more like a sausage. Mmmm, I can't wait to have a fried bologna sammich like my grandma use to make! Thank you! Will post again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This is more like a Summer Sausage. I, too added a little more cooking time and also reduced the salt a bit only as a matter of preference since I am not a big fan of salt. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My children usually do not like bologna. I put this recipe in cloth sleaves. It turned out fantastic. I added time onto the 200 degrees(about 1 1/2 hours). The recipe is gold!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Photo by tacomadanno
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Not the ideal lunch meat but awesome snack meat. Similar to deer bologna. Hard to screw this one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I found the texture was a bit 'chunky' so i tossed it all into my processor , not only did it mix it really well, it came out smooth. good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Tried this a couple of weeks ago. Although the over all flavor was good, it was VERY salty. Will try again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Since I can't edit my original review here are the results of my latest attempt with the recipe. To give the recipe another chance I followed the recipe ingredients exactly as written, but once again I emulsified the beef mixture. I now agree with Joe. This recipe, as is, is the worst bologna I have ever tasted. It does not taste like bologna. It has almost no taste at all. These ingredient's aren't what this recipe needs to make good home made bologna. It won't go to waste though, the neighbors dog loves it. I'm abandoning this recipe and moving on to another recipe I have found on the net.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Worst recipe ever. Does'NT look like boloney, taste like boloney, meat loaf on steroids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States