Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Easy to make but it needs adjusting. It needs more water, at least a cup more. It was very hard on my Kitchenaid, the machine got super hot and I could not get the dough well mixed because I was afraid of ruining my machine. Hard to knead by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
ok, I'm not by any means a novice cook and esp not a unexp'd baker but this IS the first time I attempted bagels, so I followed the instructions to the letter, I had one issue, which is well, quite a big one. My bagels came out looking amazing and smelling amazing but when I tried to take them off the parchment, they were stuck. I tried placing a bit of water under the paper on the hot pan to "steam" them off and it worked a bit but there are still 3 bagels that no matter what I do, I cannot get the paper off the bottom. It's like it's baked right on. Quite disappointing really because who wants to eat a bagel with parchment paper all over the bottom? :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Very good! My family loves them! I put sauted onions in the dough and used about 3 cups whole wheat flour instead of white, with a little vital wheat gluten. Very fluffy, awesome with cream cheese and sliced tomatoes!! Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This was my first attempt at homemade bagels and I think they turned out awesome. I didn't have the instant yeast like the recipe called for so I dissolved one packet of dry yeast in warm water and hoped for the best. I did have to add about 1/2 cup more of water to the dough as it was mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Great bagels. Flavor and texture is perfect to my liking. I only boil for 2 minutes, 1 minute a side. Make sure to boil right before you put in the oven, don't let them sit. They'll look funny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Adamson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was my first experiment making bagels, the dough went together easily and was a perfect texture when it came time to shape the bagels. I had a little trouble getting the ends to stick without making it look rough...and when they boiled they got huge! I noticed on my first batch (I doubled it)the "seams" on part of some of the bagels was a little gooey where I guess the water hadn't drained enough when I put it on the cookie sheet. Most the bagels turned out decent looking (even though I didn't use an egg wash or any toppings). I would definitely recommend toppings, I just didn't take the time to do it on these batches. The taste is awesome, and reminds me of a REAL bagel! The texture is great too. I can't wait to have a bagel sandwich and bagels and cream cheese tomorrow! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indian Valley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Awesome,awesome recipe for Bagels !! A HIT ! These came out perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daddyratty
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This is the first time I have tried anything with dough from scratch. I was pleased that they didn't seem too complicated, but - as my wife warned - dough can always be tricky. I had to add a little water to the first batch while it was in the mixer, and in the 2nd batch I put just 4 cups of flour in. It was still just a smidge doughy so I added a splash of water. The formula that worked for me was 4 cups white flour and 11 ounces water (all other ingredients in the mixer were the same). Even with slightly less flour, though, 6 bagels was too few. The couple of bagels I tried to make at this size were monstrous. I ended up making 8 decent-sized bagels from each batch (still larger than most store-bought bagels). The sausage-shape of the dough was actually more like 8-10 inches long. I found it best to roll each one gently, lay it on the cutting board and cut off a quarter inch (or less) of the end of each roll, exposing unfloured (stickier) dough that would more easily adhere when trying to make the bagel into an actual circle. I wrapped the dough around my pinky when bringing it together. I did not use honey. The magic time was 13 minutes @ 475º. I had about an hour between mixing the dough of the first two batches and the last three batches. This worked out well. It gave me about 20 minutes down time between all the back and forth, and the last bagels were on the cooling rack about 5 hours after the first batch went into the mixer. Fun to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is a great recipe! Had to add about 3/4 c more water. I made 12 nice sizes bagels instead of the 6, they would ha e been enormous. The only thing I changed is how to form them, made a round, then finger through center. These taste like Brueggers bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANAMARIA1018

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I tried making this three different times in one day, and they all failed miserably. The first time, I checked the recipe and tried using my bread machine to combine everything. The dough came out solid and crumbling, and it tore just trying to put it in the bowl to rise. The second time, I used my mixer and tried adding the flour gradually. By the second cup it was straining the motor on my mixer and I turned it out to knead by hand. I never got past two and a half cups of flour - once again it became many crumbling pieces and would not bond together or become elastic. The third time, I followed the directions exactly and put everything in the mixer at once. This time was the worst - after the dough became so stiff that the dough hook snapped in half, I figured it was time to surrender. Would not use this recipe again if someone paid me to. I use recipes to show me the right way to start, not as a starting point for figuring out a recipe. This was a terrible waste of time, ingredients, and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States