Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I live on Bagels, but when I Travel To DR you don't find them because there are not made here. And if you find them in the super market, there are over priced. Good luck trying to find bread flour. I have never found any. So I google how to make my own bread flour. Got to say I was a little worry that the all purpose flour ratio for bread flour would not yield good raise of the dough. But it was good bagels after all. I put the water, sugar and yeast to cream up, and that added to flour. Used in my kitchen aid with the hook for about 6 minutes . , two hours later double was more than double in size. Than followed the rest of the instruction and got great bagels. Even my husband was impress . Will be doing these form now on. To do my own bread flour. For every cup of all purpose flour you add 1 tablespoon of all purpose flour. This is third world country, it's very hard to find a lot of baking ingredients .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Best bagels I've tried.....hubby and kids loved them , I used all-purpose flour and I also added half cup water extra because the dough was way to dry.so that makes for 1 3/4 cups water and the yeast I added 1/12 tbsp. baked them for 15 mins and broiled them for 5 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Very easy to follow recipe. Dough took more than 30 minutes to knead with my KitchenAid stand mixer but I didn't have bread flour on hand, only regular flour which may have been the culprit. I also substituted coconut oil for vegetable oil which I do for all my recipes. I baked them on no-stick Reynold's Wrap since my parchment paper is only rated for a max temp of 350. I also didn't bring water to a rolling boil, just a rapid simmer; from previous experience, the rolling boil splashes up too much and disfigures the unboiled side of the bagels. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
It's quite tasty. I did change the bread to water to ratio to what i know would work from making tons of bread. 1 and 1/2 water and 4 cups of high gluten flour. I also mixed the dough in my bread machine, it's just easier that way. The recipe is exact to my pizza dough 1 and 1/2 water, 2 tbsp oil, 4c bread or high gluten flour, 1tsp salt(sprinkle about that much) and 3 tbsp sugar(a handful), and 1 pkt rapid rise yeast. I decided to go with Onion bagels, so I added onion powder to the dough (about a few tbsp, just sprinked, so dont know the exact amount) . Once the dough was finished I took the advice of adding honey to the water(not sure if it made any difference, just used up a bunch of my honey). It is just like making pretzels or pretzel dogs I dropped them in the water and flipped after about 30 or so seconds then placed them onto a parchment lined baking sheet. I brushed the top of each with egg white then sprinkled with onion flakes. I then baked in a 400 oven for about 20 minutes checking after 15 then every few minutes until they looked done. I turned the oven off, opened the door and covered with foil. I have learned from making, pizza and pretzles that this helps the chew in the crust. Now I just have to keep from eating them all before the rest of the family comes home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I bake all of our bread and I've tried many different kinds. I've never made bagels before, but felt confident that I could be successful. The dough is flavorless, needs to be a little sweeter I think?? I suppose I could add herbs and such to the dough to enhance it? Also, as in other reviews I felt the dough was SUPER dry and impossible to knead with the recommended amount of flour to liquid. I used over 1/4 cup more water, as well as more oil. They plumped up well, felt sturdy, were the right texture I want and cooked quick. My oven smoked a TON while baking though. I put sesame seeds on the bottoms of all of them, topped some with parmesan and garlic and some with cheddar, and some I loaded with everything I had. I say 2 stars as this will make a great starter recipe to base off of, but definitely needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiMi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Definently going to try this recipe over the weekend!!! All I need is some homemade cream cheese. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I loved this recipe. It was very easy to follow and my bagels came out delicious! The only things I have to change (this could be due to different altitudes..) is the time I bake them, and I found I had to add about 1/4 cup more water as the dough was mixing (it definitely gave my kitchen aid mixer a workout!). 15 minutes baking for me almost burned them, but luckily didn't too bad to where they weren't edible. I also added the onion flakes and raisins into the dough batches as someone else said they did. Overall, I was very happy with how they turned out and would definitely recommend this recipe. Just be sure to watch and adjust your baking time (if you need to).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Easy to make but it needs adjusting. It needs more water, at least a cup more. It was very hard on my Kitchenaid, the machine got super hot and I could not get the dough well mixed because I was afraid of ruining my machine. Hard to knead by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
ok, I'm not by any means a novice cook and esp not a unexp'd baker but this IS the first time I attempted bagels, so I followed the instructions to the letter, I had one issue, which is well, quite a big one. My bagels came out looking amazing and smelling amazing but when I tried to take them off the parchment, they were stuck. I tried placing a bit of water under the paper on the hot pan to "steam" them off and it worked a bit but there are still 3 bagels that no matter what I do, I cannot get the paper off the bottom. It's like it's baked right on. Quite disappointing really because who wants to eat a bagel with parchment paper all over the bottom? :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Very good! My family loves them! I put sauted onions in the dough and used about 3 cups whole wheat flour instead of white, with a little vital wheat gluten. Very fluffy, awesome with cream cheese and sliced tomatoes!! Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States