Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
We loved this recipe! I took my snakes and wrapped hot dogs, boiled them for a minute and baked for about 12 min. So yummy. You will have dough leftover if you make a pack of hot dogs. I used the leftover dough to make plain bagels. I did leave the dough in the mixer for about 12 min rather than 8. Awesome! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Best bagels. I only use 4c of flour based on the other reviews. These are easy and fantastic. I'll never buy bagels again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I'm on the same page as Mama_B. I also had to add 1/4 cup of water and kneaded by hand. They were my first attempt at bagels so I was happy that they turned out, but they really were huge. I'm going to try again and make 8 instead so they're a more normal size. I was happy with how they tasted right out of the oven, but having one for breakfast the next day, they were a bit bland. I did not boil them with honey, so I will also try that next time to add an extra layer of flavor. Oh, and a bit of advice for anyone having trouble rolling out and connecting their bagels into a ring - I saw in another recipe that they form the bagels into balls and just stick their thumb in the middle to make a hole, then stretch the hole to 1/3 the width of the bagel and form it into a bagel shape that way. I did that and it was very easy. PLAWHON - Thank you very much for contributing this recipe! I was very pleased with how easy to follow it was for a novice baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I went with this recipe and was very pleased! I read the reviews and prepared dough the night before - super easy once I calculated instant yeast vs. packaged (it was Arctic Freeze Weekend and I was not going out!). 2 pkgs yeast... Next morning took bowl from garage and let rise about 2 hrs. then Prepared three types of bagels, Asiago cheese, cinnamon sugar, toasted onion flakes. Everyone loved them and they were even tastier the next day. In the future I will definately make double batch - since I had a large pot of boiling water, would like make the most use of it. Just watch them after 10 min...they brown faster than you think. Thanks to everyone for your comments for a successful Deli breakfast (and warm kitchen)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I had a hard time getting my bagels to stay together where I had pinched them when they went in to boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I am still trying to master how to make bread. I tried this and thay came out so good. My husband vowed he will never by store bought bagels again. My second batch of bagels I had to triple the recipe. Wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I went to my local Panera's to get bagels yesterday but they were out so I decided to make my own. The bagels just came out of the oven and they are wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I do not have a dough hook so I kneaded by hand. I also used 1/2 cup less bread flour since the bread flour I use makes very dense doughs and baked the bagels on a Silpat. I am not a novice baker but I have never made bagels before. The recipe was easy to follow, easy to execute and the bagels are fantastic. Mine turned out a little less beautiful than Panera's bagels, but with practice I think that I can fix the issue. The hardest part for me was keeping the ends together. I had one bagel that released in the water and I had to stick the ends back together before baking. I no longer see much reason to buy bagels. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This recipe creates thick, dry dough that my KitchenAid mixer could not handle--it actually started smoking. I tried hand kneading and it was just too thick and dry. Really disappointed since the reviews were so great :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I took another reviewer's suggestion and let the yeast dissolve in the sugar and warm water for about five to seven minutes before adding he flour. I used 4 cups of flour instead of 4 1/2 and added 2 tablespoons of gluten for extra chewiness. I also added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar to the honey in the water. After they were baked, the bagels that were on parchment paper stuck to the parchment paper and so we had to cut off the bottoms of the ones on the paper--I probably used the wrong type of paper. However, the ones that were cooked on non-stick cookie sheets with a dusting of cornmeal on the bottom turned out much better. We added herbs, salt, poppy seeds and sesame seeds to the tops of some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
The flavor of these is really good, but I had to rate it down because if I wasn't a seasoned bread-maker, I wouldn't have known to not follow the flour amounts recommended here. Add your flour a cup at a time if you use this recipe, and STOP adding when the dough is silky and slightly tacky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States