Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Love this recipe. I have always wanted to make my own bagels so I could control the size and limit the calories. Plus, it sounded like fun. This is so delicious and easy. I had no trouble following the directions. Just followed the recipe and divided my dough by weight so the bagels would be similar sizes. I made 8 bagels instead of 6 and was happy with the size. I see no need to buy bagels ever again. These were slightly lighter than ones I've bought before (which I liked) and they didn't last long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ydudziak
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Super recipe easy, I added diced jalapeños to mine and they turned out fantastic! I may never buy another bagel with this recipe. I didn't have any honey for the water but I did have agave so I gave it a try and it worked just fine. thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I followed this recipe (the ingredients) but added all of the ingredients to my bread making machine. It's important to watch the dough because the amount of water depends on the type of flour used. I also boiled the bagels in plain water for about 10 seconds each side. Best tasting bagels EVER! GREAT recipe. I keep making it for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oilibhia Muirchú
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Read the reviews and I made the dough and left it overnight. They turned out fantastic! So tasty am promising bagels to everyone now as I live in a rural area and you can't get a decent bagel - thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oilibhia Muirchú

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Followed the recipe but only used 4 cups of flour and 1/4 cup of honey and baked for 17 minutes. They turned out great!! Soft inside and crunchy on the outside. I ate one hot from the oven and was blown away!! I'll add that I made these with all organic ingredients and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Such a good recipe, it made the best bagels I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hebron Ferrier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Cut into 8 pieces. Still pretty big for me. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
The taste was OK, but every single bagel stuck to the parchment paper. Had to peel the bottom layer off just to get them free. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sutton, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Like many others found, as-written this recipe produces a hard, dry, rubbery dough that causes a very powerful KitchenAid mixer to emit smoke. The crumbly dough falls apart into lots of small pieces. I ended up adding quite a bit of water and throwing the dough into the bread machine to try and salvage it. It was just too hard and dry to knead by hand. I'll have to change it a lot next time to make a workable dough. Because the dough was so dry, almost all of the bagels came apart in the boiling water. I made 8 instead of the 6 the recipe states to make, and even those were GIGANTIC. If you use the proportions listed here you will never get the "transparent" quality this recipe describes. I wonder if there is a typo somewhere? Having added more water I found that the bagels did end up with a really nice, chewy texture and they were great (though they had fallen apart some due to the difficulty with the dough). Next time I'll decrease flour, as well. Most of the 4- and 5-star reviews, I see, are from people who made changes to the amounts of flour and water. If you follow the recipe exactly, though, you will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
To dry. Also, when to dry 4.5c flour in tilt-head KitchenAid bowl will want to "crawl" out the top and also overheat mixer. Try 1.5 c water 4c flour and adjust from there. Warm the water and mix water, yeast, sugar and 2c flour first then add the remaining flour,oil, salt a few minutes later, then go for the long mix.. 10-12 min on low. I boil in .25c pure cane syrup in 2qt water for 1:30 per side. I get 8 nice size bagels or 6 giants. Watch youtube videos for other methods to shape the dough. roll snake and pinch ends does work.. I wet the ends for better result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States