Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is a great recipe! I made 12 nice sizes bagels instead of the 6, they would ha e been enormous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANAMARIA1018

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I tried making this three different times in one day, and they all failed miserably. The first time, I checked the recipe and tried using my bread machine to combine everything. The dough came out solid and crumbling, and it tore just trying to put it in the bowl to rise. The second time, I used my mixer and tried adding the flour gradually. By the second cup it was straining the motor on my mixer and I turned it out to knead by hand. I never got past two and a half cups of flour - once again it became many crumbling pieces and would not bond together or become elastic. The third time, I followed the directions exactly and put everything in the mixer at once. This time was the worst - after the dough became so stiff that the dough hook snapped in half, I figured it was time to surrender. Would not use this recipe again if someone paid me to. I use recipes to show me the right way to start, not as a starting point for figuring out a recipe. This was a terrible waste of time, ingredients, and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DarthMom4
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was an amazing recipe--I doubled it and had to knead it by hand (it was too much for my KitchenAid (and I have a 575 Watts and 6 quart bowl). My only problem was that they disappeared right out of the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthMom4
Home Town: New London, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
A wonderful, easily adaptable recipe. I took the advice of a previous review and left my dough in the refrigerator overnight. I also substituted 1/2 of the flour for whole wheat flour, and had no problems with density. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoungEleanor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
The reason I only gave four star is because this is the first time I made bagel. This is my first bagel recipe, it came out great but as an adventurous cook I will look for other recipe for comparison to see which one is the best that I would use over and over. I don't have any complain for this recipe at all, the taste was great, it came out great, I didn't substitute or change any part of it. Eventhough I am not a big fan of instant yeast but I used it anyway and everything turned out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovinghappyhome
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Wow! This recipe is holy delicious!!! I doubled the recipe and was able to make a dozen smaller bagels and 6 regular sized bagels. I was very pleased with this recipe. It is exactly what I was looking for and makes an authentic tasting bagel w/the perfect texture. I followed the recipe exactly and wasn't disappointed. You won't be either!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It will be made time and time again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by getkdm
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I used parchment paper on top my pampered chef stoneware cooking sheet. The paper stuck to the bottom of the bagels. I think next time I'll try no honey in the water and no parchment paper. (I also found the dough very tough, and made my KitchenAid stress out... I hand kneeded the dough for the 8 min).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Deli quality
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
These sure looked alot better than the ones I made yesterday, with a different recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I've made this recipe 3x now. Definitely use 4 cups of bread flour instead of 4.5. I used 4.5 the first time and had to add water. These are amazing! Better each time. I found if you have the water at a good rolling boil the bagels get even bigger. I've made the recipe into 6, 8, and 10 bagels. It just depends what size you like. I've also done cinnamon and sugar (brown and white sugar, both good) on top as well as cheddar cheese. The cheese does better when its a bigger shred. Making bagels is my new favorite thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States