Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
The reason I only gave four star is because this is the first time I made bagel. This is my first bagel recipe, it came out great but as an adventurous cook I will look for other recipe for comparison to see which one is the best that I would use over and over. I don't have any complain for this recipe at all, the taste was great, it came out great, I didn't substitute or change any part of it. Eventhough I am not a big fan of instant yeast but I used it anyway and everything turned out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovinghappyhome
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Wow! This recipe is holy delicious!!! I doubled the recipe and was able to make a dozen smaller bagels and 6 regular sized bagels. I was very pleased with this recipe. It is exactly what I was looking for and makes an authentic tasting bagel w/the perfect texture. I followed the recipe exactly and wasn't disappointed. You won't be either!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It will be made time and time again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by getkdm
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I used parchment paper on top my pampered chef stoneware cooking sheet. The paper stuck to the bottom of the bagels. I think next time I'll try no honey in the water and no parchment paper. (I also found the dough very tough, and made my KitchenAid stress out... I hand kneeded the dough for the 8 min).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Deli quality
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
These sure looked alot better than the ones I made yesterday, with a different recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I've made this recipe 3x now. Definitely use 4 cups of bread flour instead of 4.5. I used 4.5 the first time and had to add water. These are amazing! Better each time. I found if you have the water at a good rolling boil the bagels get even bigger. I've made the recipe into 6, 8, and 10 bagels. It just depends what size you like. I've also done cinnamon and sugar (brown and white sugar, both good) on top as well as cheddar cheese. The cheese does better when its a bigger shred. Making bagels is my new favorite thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Best bagel recipe I've ever tried. The dough was very easy to work with! As I looked over the ingredient list I noticed it is nearly the same as the recipe I use for French bread. The instructions made it very easy to know exactly what to expect in every step. I had my 4-year old granddaughter help me roll out the "snakes" (her term, not mine). What a great way to get a child interested in doing things in the kitchen--and spending time with Gramma! I did make a substitution by adding 1 Tbsp. of molasses in place of one of sugar, and because I used whole wheat flour it only took about 2 1/4 cups of flour to reach the consistency suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Perfect with 4 cups of Canadian flour. Made 6 giant bagels. When boiling, mine floated immediately, so boiled a minute on each side. Kneeded for about 12 minutes, giving a workout to our 800 watt Cuisinart and dough hook. Will be making this a lot. Have eaten 2 already, so I'll tell the kids I made 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I just made this recipe. I split the dough into thirds, and made three different types of bagels. 1/3 was plain, 1/3 had cinnamon sugar mixed in, and 1/3 had caramelized onions mixed in. I am never going to buy bagels again, this was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe, but not the instructions. I added the 1 1/4 cup of hot water, sugar and yeast together in my KitchenAid mixer. I let the yeast get frothy and then added in the salt, oil and 4 cups of flour (anymore and it would have been too dry!). On speed 2, I let it mix then knead the dough for 15 minutes. I was running late, and couldn't get the dough to the consistency as instructed. It broke almost right away when pulled. I popped the dough a warm oven (I put it on 350F just until the elements were red, then turned it off). After rising for 2 hours, I punched down the dough and started shaping. I made 8 bagels. I didn't have a full cup of honey, so I added some light corn syrup to make up for what I was lacking, a quarter cup. I also didn't use 16 cups of water, I used 13. I let the bagels bathe and then topped them with grated medium cheddar cheese. They baked for 20 minutes at 475F. I pulled them out, let them cool for 15 minutes then tried them. OMG! Delicious! They will be even better with cream cheese smothered over them after toasting them in the toaster! I can't wait for breakfast tomorrow! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States