Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
great try it out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
It was very good, but it was difficult getting the raw bagles into the boiling water and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aghaveagh Faer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Great recipe. Fyi watch your parchment paper. Most don't withstand 475 degree temperature. I also only used 4c. Bread flour and seasoned with chives, garlic, dill and different cheeses. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Levitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
These were really outstanding, and I thought that it was a relatively easy bread recipe (breads can be tricky, especially for novices). The only modification that I made was allowing the dough to rise/ferment in the fridge overnight--which is what professionals do with bagels. Well, actually, I guess I made another minor change in the process. Rather than mixing the yeast in with everything else, I mixed the yeast, 1 tablespoon sugar, and 3/4 cup of lukewarm water in a separate bowl to let the yeast proof before mixing with everything else (make sure to make necessary adjustments in the sugar and water before adding them to the flour). After about ten minutes, the yeast should be foamy (indicating the yeast are alive). I'm surprised that no one seems to have mentioned this, but don't go by the reviews that are saying only use 4 cups of flour. The climate can make a huge difference here--specifically humidity level. I would advise starting with 3.5-4 cups, and then add more flour if necessary. But, because the climate is different from one kitchen to the next, a blanket statement that 4 cups is enough may not be true for everyone. One final tip--for those who have had a problem with the bagels sticking to the parchment, you can prevent this by lightly greasing the parchment. Obviously, this isn't usually necessary when using parchment, but the wet bagels can become a little glue-like. I just spray it with a light coat of non-stick cooking spray. I haven't tried it with thi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Best bagel recipe I've tried, and I've tried a few! Followed closely, using 2 packets of yeast. The dough was really stiff, so I added a little more water. My kitchen aid was working hard! I made 8 large bagels, dipped the top in sesame seeds, and they are delicious!! Eating one as I'm typing this the next morning, and I think they're even better today :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
My first attempt at bagels. My family loved them!! I added carmalized onions on the top. These are my husband's words that he sent me via text on his way to work. "Mmmm. What an amazing bagel. ACTUAL pieces of onion unlike those store bought ones where a microscope would not be able to show evidence of onion remnants". I plan on making more today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made these today and I doubled the recipe knowing how much my family likes bagels and for my first time I think i made them a bit to big but they were really good i will be making this many more times instead of buying bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Rumsey Wilcox

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I started this recipe twice and both times the dough is very very dry at the end of the 8 minute mark. I tired adding a little more warm water but still dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Kyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
iI made this recipe exactly as is except that I only put 4 cups of regular Canadian flour. As a reviewer had suggested. They turn out great. My nicest looking bagels are the ones that I rolled into balls and then put a hole in the Center and sketched it out. I also put maple and corn syrup in the boiling water. I made them a bit smaller which gave me 13 bagels that are still a good size and perfect for our toaster. I used my kitchen aid stand mixer. Hope these suggestions make your bagels perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gloria
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
this is my first try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States