Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
I love, love, love this recipe. The only thing I will change is the size of the individual bagel. They're just too big if you only make six. I think 10 would be perfect for folks that are interested in having a bagel in addition to other breakfast foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Took everyone's advice on the 4 cups of flour, glad I did! I definitely heated up my kitchen aid. Dough hooked it for about 12 minutes. The dough did not get translucent when pulled apart. It stretched a little. I could have added more water (1/4 cup more) based on what other reviewers said. I brushed them with egg whites too. A couple of notes: Do NOT use wax paper instead of parchment paper. Okay, I'm new to baking and didn't know. I lost the bottom of my bagels. I would SPRAY YOUR PARCHMENT PAPER WITH OIL, just in case. I made 12 decent sized bagels with the quantities used. 6 bagels would be ridiculously large. The bagels tasted incredible. That is for sure, even after I had to slice off the bottoms :). We wanted to eat them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan&Nicky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chasingjoy
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
This recipe was amazing! I made it last week and turned it into 8 bagels. We loved it so much I'm having a deli night gathering with friends tonight. I'm making 8 plain, 8 with sesame seeds, 8 jalapeno cheddar, 8 cinnamon raisin. I'm so excited for my friends to enjoy. Note, for the ones I added ingredients to I also added 1 beaten egg white as a binder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasingjoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Love this recipe. I have always wanted to make my own bagels so I could control the size and limit the calories. Plus, it sounded like fun. This is so delicious and easy. I had no trouble following the directions. Just followed the recipe and divided my dough by weight so the bagels would be similar sizes. I made 8 bagels instead of 6 and was happy with the size. I see no need to buy bagels ever again. These were slightly lighter than ones I've bought before (which I liked) and they didn't last long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ydudziak
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Super recipe easy, I added diced jalapeños to mine and they turned out fantastic! I may never buy another bagel with this recipe. I didn't have any honey for the water but I did have agave so I gave it a try and it worked just fine. thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I followed this recipe (the ingredients) but added all of the ingredients to my bread making machine. It's important to watch the dough because the amount of water depends on the type of flour used. I also boiled the bagels in plain water for about 10 seconds each side. Best tasting bagels EVER! GREAT recipe. I keep making it for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oilibhia Muirchú
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Read the reviews and I made the dough and left it overnight. They turned out fantastic! So tasty am promising bagels to everyone now as I live in a rural area and you can't get a decent bagel - thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oilibhia Muirchú

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Followed the recipe but only used 4 cups of flour and 1/4 cup of honey and baked for 17 minutes. They turned out great!! Soft inside and crunchy on the outside. I ate one hot from the oven and was blown away!! I'll add that I made these with all organic ingredients and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Such a good recipe, it made the best bagels I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hebron Ferrier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Cut into 8 pieces. Still pretty big for me. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States