Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Really good! I made mine the night before and then took it out of the fridge a couple hours before making them. Kids love them, one daughter rolled chocolate chips in, very popular! I will say that the dough seemed very tight, I added a tbsp of water and split the dough in half so that the dough hook could do it's work. Each half portion was kneaded for at least 14 minutes. I read some reviews where people decided to hand knead.... no thank you! I used the honey in the boiling water, it certainly adds a yummy fragrance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peggy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Today I made this recipe at the very first time. It was really easy and turned out really tasty!! I did take other reviewers' suggestion resolve the yeast and sugar in warm water then add other remaining ingredients, and I also only use 4 cups of flours. I have a really small oven so I can only place 4 bagels at once ( I decided in 8 portion at the first ). The first batch came out way too big, so I divided the rest 4 into 8 pieces, but it was a bit small. So I think next time I will divide the dough to 12 portions. And I will definitely make this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEE4242
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe and technique. Made bread yesterday with similar ingrediants so I had dough in fridge. Let it come to room temp and rise in glass bowl, greased and coverd. Followed instructions on how to shape, boil and rest. I used an egg wash on top and sessame seeds. Baked on a cookie sheet with corn meal at 450 for about 20 minutes. Awesome goodness. No sticking to the pan. Will be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEE4242

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tony
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I've made these a few times. They came out excellent each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetseeker
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
So far so good! They're cooked and cooling. I chomped at the bit waiting for 1 1/2 hours before punching down, shaping boiling and baking. I only put maybe a Tbs. of sugar and a Tsp. of honey in the water. I used an egg wash. Baked at 450. They look great. USEFUL TIP!!! I found when making pretzels or bagels, to put them into a sieve to drip and let some water evaporate off of them after boiling before putting them on the parchment paper! Otherwise I did have some pretzels turn out "gummy". Hope that helps! As for flavour. It is what you make it! Its a basic bread recipe, add your own flavours and spices! Allowing it to sit overnight may make a nice difference. I never really care. :) Happy Baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Choi
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I made 9 -10 bagels with this reciepe and they looked and tasted great. I added one egg and let them rise for 1 hour instead of 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Choi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I made this recipe a few weeks ago, and we loved it! I would give a 5 for the taste, but because of the excess flour, I down graded a bit. I did modify a bit, by adding 1/4 cup oat groats, and 1/2 cup brown flour (reduced white by 1). I did make the mistake with the flour the first time (nearly killed my mixer) but by adding lots of water (by hand) I was able to salvage the dough. Today I made again, this time starting with a total of 2.5 cups flour/grain, and added flour as needed to achieve the proper texture. After the first batch my Husband has been begging me to make again! These are way better than bought, and so much easier to digest! I don't see us buying bagels again!!! Thank you so much for the recipe Plawhon, and thank you Wannabechef for your advice as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Delicious! Dough was a little hard on the mixer. Bagels were boiled in water (no honey, sugar or salt), and the crusts were the perfect texture. After baking, the outside was golden and the insides were beautifully soft with nice air pockets. Final product -10 out of 10!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
The bagels taste great but would have been in the oven too long, they started smoking at about 10 minutes because of the parchment paper, I bought cheap parchment paper, not a mistake I'll make again! But after I cut the bagels off the paper, they were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I am sorry, but this did not work for me. the insides were never cooked well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States