Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Cut into 8 pieces. Still pretty big for me. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
The taste was OK, but every single bagel stuck to the parchment paper. Had to peel the bottom layer off just to get them free. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sutton, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Like many others found, as-written this recipe produces a hard, dry, rubbery dough that causes a very powerful KitchenAid mixer to emit smoke. The crumbly dough falls apart into lots of small pieces. I ended up adding quite a bit of water and throwing the dough into the bread machine to try and salvage it. It was just too hard and dry to knead by hand. I'll have to change it a lot next time to make a workable dough. Because the dough was so dry, almost all of the bagels came apart in the boiling water. I made 8 instead of the 6 the recipe states to make, and even those were GIGANTIC. If you use the proportions listed here you will never get the "transparent" quality this recipe describes. I wonder if there is a typo somewhere? Having added more water I found that the bagels did end up with a really nice, chewy texture and they were great (though they had fallen apart some due to the difficulty with the dough). Next time I'll decrease flour, as well. Most of the 4- and 5-star reviews, I see, are from people who made changes to the amounts of flour and water. If you follow the recipe exactly, though, you will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
To dry. Also, when to dry 4.5c flour in tilt-head KitchenAid bowl will want to "crawl" out the top and also overheat mixer. Try 1.5 c water 4c flour and adjust from there. Warm the water and mix water, yeast, sugar and 2c flour first then add the remaining flour,oil, salt a few minutes later, then go for the long mix.. 10-12 min on low. I boil in .25c pure cane syrup in 2qt water for 1:30 per side. I get 8 nice size bagels or 6 giants. Watch youtube videos for other methods to shape the dough. roll snake and pinch ends does work.. I wet the ends for better result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I just made these bagels. They turned out great. I tried 2 different recipes at the same time and these were far better. I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Standish
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
The dough is pretty hard to mix and my kitchen aid stand mixer was struggling, but they ended up GREAT! I used the honey in my water and only sprinkled salt on top. I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Standish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I found that recipe asks for too much oil and not enough water in order to happily develop gluten. As a result it was crumbly and oily-dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
great try it out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
It was very good, but it was difficult getting the raw bagles into the boiling water and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aghaveagh Faer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Great recipe. Fyi watch your parchment paper. Most don't withstand 475 degree temperature. I also only used 4c. Bread flour and seasoned with chives, garlic, dill and different cheeses. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Levitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States