Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
My first attempt at bagels. My family loved them!! I added carmalized onions on the top. These are my husband's words that he sent me via text on his way to work. "Mmmm. What an amazing bagel. ACTUAL pieces of onion unlike those store bought ones where a microscope would not be able to show evidence of onion remnants". I plan on making more today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made these today and I doubled the recipe knowing how much my family likes bagels and for my first time I think i made them a bit to big but they were really good i will be making this many more times instead of buying bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Rumsey Wilcox

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I started this recipe twice and both times the dough is very very dry at the end of the 8 minute mark. I tired adding a little more warm water but still dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Kyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
iI made this recipe exactly as is except that I only put 4 cups of regular Canadian flour. As a reviewer had suggested. They turn out great. My nicest looking bagels are the ones that I rolled into balls and then put a hole in the Center and sketched it out. I also put maple and corn syrup in the boiling water. I made them a bit smaller which gave me 13 bagels that are still a good size and perfect for our toaster. I used my kitchen aid stand mixer. Hope these suggestions make your bagels perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gloria
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
this is my first try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made these plain because my intentions were to make bagel sandwiches out of them with egg sausage and cheese. While I was making them I thought they were going to be pretty ugly but, they turned out looking like a professional had done them. The recipe was easy to follow. The only thing I did differently was added a tablespoon of lemon juice to the mixture to act as a preservative. I have found that it makes the bread stay fresher longer without molding. I made 8 out of the recipe instead of 6 and they were still huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
As stated above the bagels themselves are a bit bland, but they are perfect for sandwiches, cream cheese, butter etc... my kids love them, they are easy to make and don't last long in my house. I don't bake them for any amount of time, I bake them to color. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Maley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I liked it, I used less flour also, just 4 cups. My yeast musta been bad because they were very dense. But I figured why waste so I cooked the anyway. Dough was tough after 15 min of kneading. They didn't float either. I will try again. I have some dried cherries I want to put in. Wanna find some cherry flavoring to add more cherry flavor. Very easy and taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious and particularly easy to make. However- I used parchment paper as the recipe said and it's stuck to the bottom of my bagels now! Next time I will just use tin foil or no paper at all. Otherwise this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
this recipe is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States