Real French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
MY dad is french my mom cooked crepes all the time this was very good i like it with jam or rolled with lobster i all so like this recipe very much and will keep makeing it thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I've been making crepes off and on for years. Every recipe I've tried basically tastes the same. This was no different. I can't expect much when the only ingredients are milk egg, and flour. I have never tried crepes with ice cream before, that made it taste a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I thought this recipe was great, so very easy. It was the first time I made crepes and they tasted just like the ones in Paris! A tip - these are great with Nutella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
First let me say that I am a Gramma and this is almost identical to the recipe that my Grandmother gave me some 40+ yrs ago. She added 1t salt, 1/2t baking soda. She also only used 2Tbsp milk and the rest water as milk was 'dear' in those days. Also, she cooked them in hot, melted lard and they got all lacey and crispy around the edges. Hmmmm, I can almost smell them right now. Still one of my favorite breakfasts but I do skip the lard and use a little soy margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
This is THE recipe to go from. Delicious crêpes, without or without additions. I live in Québec and these are pretty much just as good as what you'd get at a fancy breakfast place. Thanks Samantha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Works great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This lacked flavor: had more of a "flour" taste and it was not easy to manage... too fragile to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
sprinkle a little lemon juice and then sugar before you fold it up and it tastes just like in paris. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This works just fine - like anything that involves adding flour to wet ingredients or working with raw flour, you have to let it sit for a bit (I always leave Crepe batter in the fridge for at least a half hour to let the flour do its thing. If the review says it tasted like flour...they didn't let the batter sit. This is a nice recipe because it is simple, easy to remember and you can add salt, orange or lemon zet, a bit of sugar or vanilla, some thinly sliced scallions, or what have you depending on what you want to fill the crepe with. And remember the first Crepe almost always is ruined - don't sweat that. You could add a touch of melted butter to the batter (taking out a bit of the milk) and that will help the stickiness problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Maybe they're not exactly real French crepes, but they're good nonetheless. I've used this recipe several times and, as always with crepes, every time it's a challenge. I use a little less milk and let it stand for about 20 minutes before using the batter. Don't get discouraged if some crepes break, especially the first one, it takes some time to learn how to flip them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Toscana, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States