Real French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I am from Quebec and this is exactly how to make crepes. I read a review saying that this was not a good recipe because the middle of the crepe was undercooked. All u have to do is lift the pan and play around with it until the batter is spread all over covering the whole pan. U can also add fruits to this to give it a little extra fun taste. ( strawberries, bananas ect.. ) I also spread peanut butter on top before adding the syrup. It's delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
maybe its because I am from France.... But this is not the way I was taught to make crepes at all.... Adding a pinch of salt and sugar makes all the difference. I tried it your way and it didnt come out right at all. My husband loves my crepes. I started adding a pinch of vanilla to it lately and he just loves it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caen, Basse-Normandie, France
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
We might have been doing something wrong, but everytime we tried to flip these crepes, they would break. It got somewhat frustrating after a while. Other than that, they were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I MADE THIS MY FIRST TIME AND ADDED SOME SUGER TO THE BATTER IT CAME OUT PERFECT THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR POSTING THIS ITS GREAT AND YUMMY TOO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Very good. For the filling I stirred some fresh lemon zest and juice into some cottage cheese and then I topped them with some warm marionberry sauce. I made these for a large group and everyone really LOVED them! No complaints. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
To those who have not had an opportunity to travel to Europe...European Desserts are not as sweet as Americans are use to. Flavor comes from the filling not from the crepe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
These are the best crepes I have ever tasted. My husband and I are ex Montrealers and when I made these this morning he said they are just like his mother made years ago!!! I really can't see why someone would want to rate this recipe with less than one star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
A basic crepe recipe that's super simple to make. I had no problem cooking the crepes all the way through or flipping them provided I remembered to spray the pan each time. For even better looking crepes, an electric crepe pan can work wonders. Of course they'll taste like flour if you don't add anything to it - or flour, egg, and milk more precisely - but they're absolutely delicious if you love drowning them in REAL maple syrup like I do! For a treat, try buttering them and adding brown sugar before rolling them up and covering in syrup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
A little plain, but what would you expect from egg, flour and milk? Very easy. I topped these with a chocolate sauce also found on the site and sweetened them up just right. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I studied abroad in France this past summer and ate my fair share of crepes. This recipe was the most like the ones in France that I've tasted since being home. Thanks! I did add a little vanilla to mine to give it some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States