Real French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I always add a little vanilla. For filling, I use cream cheese, then put 2 or 3 back in the pan and add some apricot sauce kicked up with a little apricot brandy. Get everything back up to temp and serve. They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Just like what I had in France!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharmon Trahan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
tasted very similar to my former french roommate's recipe. seems most of the negative comments stem from user error. (i.e. watch the heat and butter the skillet every time) also, i added an extra egg because she made them really eggy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is an excellent recipe but does need to rest for 20-30 minutes as any crepe batter should. Much healthier than the usual that use butter and salt. The flavour is the eaters choice, I like lemon juice and a sprinkle of sugar. I am French, and this is as good as it gets...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
excellent! light and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Piraeus, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
im sorry i didnt really like this recipe at all, it just didnt turn out the way i thought it would, maybe it was just me, but it tasted really plain, i know they are suppose to be like that but it still didnt seem right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is a great recipe. I actually halved the flour and milk (and used vanilla soymilk), still used one egg, and a teaspoon of raw sugar. I grew up in Germany and these tasted just like the ones my mom used to make for us when I was younger. Now I need to get some Nutella to eat them with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
We make crepes at home all the time. I like that this recipe has no sugar, because you don't need any in the batter. However, it helps to add some vanilla extract to add flavour. Also, I usually go with 2 eggs and 1 1/2 cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I've made this many times with complete success. It's a nice, easy recipe. I do use a little butter instead of the spray and sometimes I'll add a touch of vanilla to it, depending on what I'm topping them with. I use a blender to get the batter very smooth and then let it sit in the fridge for an hour before making it, sometimes even overnight just to make sure that every bit of flour is absorbed. This is an essential step, and you won't get a floury taste. It's very important to use a high quality pan, I use a 10" cast iron pan and heat it on med/high and melt the butter. Pour the batter in and immediately swirl it to fully cover the bottom. It only takes about 1 minute before it's dry enough to turn and then maybe, MAYBE 15 seconds on the flip side. Just tilt your pan over and the crepes slide right off onto your plate. SammySam, this is a great recipe I'v used for a long time, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I thought this was a super easy recipe. I followed the advice of others and added vanilla. The only thing I found was that because they had to be so thin, I had to spray my frying pan each time with Pam so that I could flip them while keeping them in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States