Real French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
It looks very good.I am glad that it does not need a lout of ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Awesome and so simple. First time I ever made crepes at home. I thought they were this crazy recipe, but this just like eating these in a restaurant. It took me 3 before I got one to stay together. Secret, lower temp setting to cook. To add a hint of sweet, I added 1 TB of vanilla. Batter was not affected. Strawberry crepes are my favorite and every Mom's day our family goes for breakfast to get mom's strawberry crepes. Thanks for sharing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Delicious! My grandmother was French and she made me crepes every Saturday morning. As soon as they came out of the pan, she would spread them with a thin layer of brown sugar, roll them up and serve them hot. The sugar would start to melt and taste and smell heavenly! Probably not the most nutritious breakfast, but so yummy. This crepe recipe is the closest I have found to hers. Simple and fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rada Dvorkin Miller
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I make a triple batch of these whenever I make them. I do use double the eggs and add a little agave syrup, so not exactly as written. So, I use 6 eggs, 6 cups of milk and 3 cups of flour, plus a squeeze of the agave bottle. The kids eat them with either Nutella or PB&J. One day, they will learn to eat these with fruit and berries... but for right now, this is what they like. The rest get layered with wax paper (as I make them). Then, they go in the fridge and get eaten by the kids over the next few days. Started doing it when Costco discontinued the La Creperie crepes they used to sell and all three kids went into mourning. I am a great cook, but crepes have always intimidated me. Didn't realize how easy they are and how much better and cheaper they turn out than the Costco La Creperie ones (which weren't all that good, but the kids loved them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Disclaimer: I do not have a crêpe pan, and I already have bad luck with crêpes. These crêpes were very delicate and therefore difficult for me to flip without breaking them. They were also very bland. I suppose those are two possibly positive aspects (delicacy and flavor that lets the other additions shine). For me, Je n'ai pas aimé.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Gallagher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Townsend, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I haven't made this recipe yet, but, having made crepes many times before it helps to use a good quality non stick/thick skillet or crepe pan and to take the pan off the heat when you add the batter, swirl it around until it sets and then put the pan back onto the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
these are true crepes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
this is a good recipe, but it seems to be missing something, very traditional though. good with strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe! I have no idea what people are having so much trouble with, or how they are getting the taste of flower in them. Unless, of course, they are trying to compare them to over sweet and over buttery gourmet versions. This is a real traditional French crepe recipe. Very simple, and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Few things to note: 1) mix your batter and then let it sit while your pan is heating. 2) keep the temp of the heat at med-high. 3) discard the 1st crepe. 4) if you haven't mastered spreading the batter by twisting your wrist, then spread it with your spatula so that it is uniformly very thin. 5) peek under the crepe to see if it is lightly browned before flipping. This recipe is terrific, true to tradition, and very simple. Just takes some practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States