Real French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Rada Dvorkin Miller
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I make a triple batch of these whenever I make them. I do use double the eggs and add a little agave syrup, so not exactly as written. So, I use 6 eggs, 6 cups of milk and 3 cups of flour, plus a squeeze of the agave bottle. The kids eat them with either Nutella or PB&J. One day, they will learn to eat these with fruit and berries... but for right now, this is what they like. The rest get layered with wax paper (as I make them). Then, they go in the fridge and get eaten by the kids over the next few days. Started doing it when Costco discontinued the La Creperie crepes they used to sell and all three kids went into mourning. I am a great cook, but crepes have always intimidated me. Didn't realize how easy they are and how much better and cheaper they turn out than the Costco La Creperie ones (which weren't all that good, but the kids loved them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Disclaimer: I do not have a crêpe pan, and I already have bad luck with crêpes. These crêpes were very delicate and therefore difficult for me to flip without breaking them. They were also very bland. I suppose those are two possibly positive aspects (delicacy and flavor that lets the other additions shine). For me, Je n'ai pas aimé.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Townsend, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I haven't made this recipe yet, but, having made crepes many times before it helps to use a good quality non stick/thick skillet or crepe pan and to take the pan off the heat when you add the batter, swirl it around until it sets and then put the pan back onto the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
these are true crepes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
this is a good recipe, but it seems to be missing something, very traditional though. good with strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe! I have no idea what people are having so much trouble with, or how they are getting the taste of flower in them. Unless, of course, they are trying to compare them to over sweet and over buttery gourmet versions. This is a real traditional French crepe recipe. Very simple, and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Few things to note: 1) mix your batter and then let it sit while your pan is heating. 2) keep the temp of the heat at med-high. 3) discard the 1st crepe. 4) if you haven't mastered spreading the batter by twisting your wrist, then spread it with your spatula so that it is uniformly very thin. 5) peek under the crepe to see if it is lightly browned before flipping. This recipe is terrific, true to tradition, and very simple. Just takes some practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Loved this recipe. I like that there is no sugar in it so that I can eat them with a savory filling. I ate them with a fried egg filling and nutella. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
GREAT simple RECIPE thanks for sharing!! I WAS wondering if anyone knows the recipe to the white sugary topping that I HOP puts over their fruit crepes??? It is so good and would be great on this recipe as well =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years! I like to put nutella on then and fold then over twice. Its awesome! Not sure what the persons before me problem is because this is the easiest crepes recipe ever! Just make sure when you put in the pan you make it paper thin as stated in the recipe or yes it will be undercooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States