Real French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
mm I still don't care for this recipe, OF COURSE I DO know that they are not pancakes (some people think that the world is as "smart as they are") And I've been in France, having REAL french crepes, so I can say this recipe is useless. And, also I have to say that I'm not a begginer: I'm very good at cooking. I'm not giving this recipe a third chance. The basic crepes by Jen are what I was looking for. You can try to do this recipe as many times as you want. It always will taste like plain flour. If you DO KNOW the difference between pancakes and crepes, then don't waste your time:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
An excellent and easy crepe recipe! Very tasty with any sort of sweet topping. I didn't have butter or anything so I used this one instead of my usual nalesniki recipe and it turned out excellently! To the reviewers who gave this recipe such a bad rating: If you can't make this crepe recipe, don't even try Polish crepes, holy geez! Some of these reviewers must not know how to make crepes or something (they are NOT pancakes) because this one was so very simple and worked every time! Remember, with pancakes, you are making thick small things, with crepes, you fill the entire pan with a very thin layer of batter and then you roll them up after. There is nothing wrong with this recipe people, give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
If I could give this recipe NO stars, I will. I have been cooking recipes from Allrecipes for a good time and 99.9% of the times they are superb, but, honestly, I did not care for this recipe: in these crepes the edges dryed before the center was cooked (and it remains undercooked no matter what I did) they taste like plain flour and milk: nothing above usual, I'm a good cook and I didn't like the crepes, I did mine perfectly round, thin and every time remains a bit of undercooked batter in the center, plus the flavor is like in every crepes: unflavored, just for add your favorite taste: salt or sweet. (Try the basic crepes recipe by Jen, that's a keeper, and you don't need to suffer making the crepes thin as paper, they cooked through very well. Believe me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I guess it just didn't work out as well as I thought. But, I think with more work, it will taste yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
Not very good as a breakfast. Too much like a big flat noodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I am French Myslef and this is the style I remember My Grandpa making
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
This recipe was delightfully simple and very tasteful. I added a tad bit of sugar to my batter and made crepes for a party. Everyone was impressed with the "Real French Crepes"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
These were ridiculously easy to make. Great with blueberries or just plain butter with REAL maple syrup. Yummy! There were lumps when i put them in the pan, but when the Crepe was done, they were gone. Very easy to flip! No mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
I didn't think these tasted very good at all nor were they easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
quick and simple. tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States