Real French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is the first time I've been successful with making crepes. The batter was a little thick on the first one, so I added some water. I had also put about a tsp of salt in the batter to begin with, and beat vigorously with a fork. I don't know how other reviewers could say they tasted like flour, I had a distinct slightly eggy flavor to mine. It was perfect for the savory filling and swiss cheese I rolled up in them (then returned to the pan to let the cheese melt). These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I am from Quebec and this is exactly how to make crepes. I read a review saying that this was not a good recipe because the middle of the crepe was undercooked. All u have to do is lift the pan and play around with it until the batter is spread all over covering the whole pan. U can also add fruits to this to give it a little extra fun taste. ( strawberries, bananas ect.. ) I also spread peanut butter on top before adding the syrup. It's delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
maybe its because I am from France.... But this is not the way I was taught to make crepes at all.... Adding a pinch of salt and sugar makes all the difference. I tried it your way and it didnt come out right at all. My husband loves my crepes. I started adding a pinch of vanilla to it lately and he just loves it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caen, Basse-Normandie, France
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
We might have been doing something wrong, but everytime we tried to flip these crepes, they would break. It got somewhat frustrating after a while. Other than that, they were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I MADE THIS MY FIRST TIME AND ADDED SOME SUGER TO THE BATTER IT CAME OUT PERFECT THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR POSTING THIS ITS GREAT AND YUMMY TOO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Very good. For the filling I stirred some fresh lemon zest and juice into some cottage cheese and then I topped them with some warm marionberry sauce. I made these for a large group and everyone really LOVED them! No complaints. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
To those who have not had an opportunity to travel to Europe...European Desserts are not as sweet as Americans are use to. Flavor comes from the filling not from the crepe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
These are the best crepes I have ever tasted. My husband and I are ex Montrealers and when I made these this morning he said they are just like his mother made years ago!!! I really can't see why someone would want to rate this recipe with less than one star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
A basic crepe recipe that's super simple to make. I had no problem cooking the crepes all the way through or flipping them provided I remembered to spray the pan each time. For even better looking crepes, an electric crepe pan can work wonders. Of course they'll taste like flour if you don't add anything to it - or flour, egg, and milk more precisely - but they're absolutely delicious if you love drowning them in REAL maple syrup like I do! For a treat, try buttering them and adding brown sugar before rolling them up and covering in syrup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
A little plain, but what would you expect from egg, flour and milk? Very easy. I topped these with a chocolate sauce also found on the site and sweetened them up just right. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States