Real Fig Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I just made the figs and followed the directions. The figs tasted great and the jars looked beautiful after processing. When I looked at the jars the next morning, after leaving them on the counter overnight, the butter had risen to the top of the jar and throughout the preserves. What did I do wrong? Has anyone else had this happen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gorman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Tastes like apple butter. Nice flavor, but not like fig preserves. Otherwise a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Wow! Very tasty. I doubled the recipe and still only ended up with 4 pint sized jars, but still, totally worth it. Mine ended up freezer jam as my jars were too big/pots too small to do the final immersion. But it is so good that I am perfectly happy with it. I followed the recipe, only difference is when I open a new jar I stick a knife in there and chop everything up a little. My and my husband's favorite way to eat it is on a toasted english muffin with some peanut butter. Mmmmm. Maybe next year I'll make it with the smaller jars and give some away, but this year it is mine, all mine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Oh my! This over ice cream is delish! Use recipe as is, maybe cut the sugar a tad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laidback

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I just made this, but changed the numbers to the metric system as I'm European and don't use cups and although it smells great, I only ended up with 2 jars, got the feeling I didn't use enough figs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I just finished making these preserves and they were VERY flavorful. I had a little leftover after canning that I just had to taste. I had no idea what to expect since I have never eaten figs other than in fig newtons. I was pleasantly surprised. I read the other reviews about the figs being whole and being packed in the syrup and the directions noted being careful when stirring not to break apart the figs. Therefore, I worked on keeping the figs whole. They turned out just fine but next time I would stir towards the end of the cooking time and allow the figs to break open after softening. I noticed that the lovely lady who submitted the recipe had a photo of her fig preserves and they appeared to have the figs more dispersed throughout the syrup. Great recipe and pretty easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This is my first experience canning anything other than freezer jam, and I had so much fun! My recipe only yielded half as much as expected, but it tastes delicious! I will be making more as soon as more figs ripen. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Tastes similar to apple pie. The figs remained whole and did not break down. This did not thicken up like jam, but I think it is supposed to be that way. I've made it twice and both times it yielded only half of the amount listed in the recipe. The lemon rinds taste delicious after cooked. I prefer not to slice it into rounds though. I cut the lemon in half and the sliced it. From what I've read the lemons are necessary when canning because figs are a low acid fruit, which makes them prone to bacterial growth. So, don't leave out the lemons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I made these preserves last year and jarred them to give out at the Holidays. I was floored by the response! We loved into a house with two large fig trees and never knew what to with them, other than eat a few. Now i not only have great use, this recipe has been a huge hit! I had several friends offer money for any extra jars I had. I harvested three huge bags of figs yesterday and will be spending all day in the kitchen making preserves today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I am not really a fig lover but my husband is so I put them up for him. But oh my these are so good almost like apple pie. We eat them on ice cream. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States