Real Fig Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I had a neighbor bring me some figs, and I didn't know what to do with them. I found this recipe but was skeptical getting a recipe from someone so young, but the fig preserves were wonderful. I couldn't stop tasting it as it cooked. I let it cook longer than an hour so it would thicken. The flavor is great! I hope I get more figs so I can do it again, yummy. You taught a seasoned cook a new trick. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alicia
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I love the flavors and how fragrant, delicious and easy to make this is! I have never rated a recipe before but I felt compelled to register so I could thank you and share with others what a wonderful recipe this is! If anyone loves figs, they must give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Oh, my, gosh! These are fabulous! The spices are perfect. Delanna is right. Fig preserves are better when they are not bland! I (almost) doubled the recipe. Did not have extra lemon juice so just used my last lemon and sliced thin. Also used ground ginger since that is what I had. Can't wait to make another batch while my fig tree is producing. Off to the store to buy more jars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I have been making jams and preserves for several years and had never tried to make fig preserves. A friend gave me some fresh figs and I found this recipe and thought it sounded good. The fresh lemons add a nice flavor. This one is going in my recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
So tasty! I didn't have lemons, but I had dried lemon peel. The substitution still worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Great flavor. Made the whole house smell great. I doubled the recipe, and it yeilded 5 pints and 1 half pint. I thought I would get more, since the yield for 5 cups was 8 pints, maybe it was to be half pints? In anycase, so great! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redwood Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I love this recipe! This tastes wonderful on home made buttermilk biscuits. I will be using this preserve recipe over and over! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyduncan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collins, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I am not really a fig lover but my husband is so I put them up for him. But oh my these are so good almost like apple pie. We eat them on ice cream. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I made these preserves last year and jarred them to give out at the Holidays. I was floored by the response! We loved into a house with two large fig trees and never knew what to with them, other than eat a few. Now i not only have great use, this recipe has been a huge hit! I had several friends offer money for any extra jars I had. I harvested three huge bags of figs yesterday and will be spending all day in the kitchen making preserves today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Tastes similar to apple pie. The figs remained whole and did not break down. This did not thicken up like jam, but I think it is supposed to be that way. I've made it twice and both times it yielded only half of the amount listed in the recipe. The lemon rinds taste delicious after cooked. I prefer not to slice it into rounds though. I cut the lemon in half and the sliced it. From what I've read the lemons are necessary when canning because figs are a low acid fruit, which makes them prone to bacterial growth. So, don't leave out the lemons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States