Real Fig Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Shazam! Loved it -- LOVED IT! I thought this recipe would be good just from reading it. The positive reviews from other users made me even more confident. But the final product we wound up with surpassed even these optimistic expectations. We'll definitely be making this again -- a new family favorite! We put in a little bit more lemon, but then again, our family likes distinctive flavors. Going with the original recipe's lemon quotient would, in my opinion, also give an outstanding batch of preserves. We had to cook the preserves for about 25 additional minutes. I think we had the heat turned down a trifle low. When we got to the end of the originally stated cooking time, the figs were still "swimming" in liquid instead of "wading" in it. A tad more heat and, as already stated, 25 additional minutes brought them to where they needed to be. We used our own backyard figs for this recipe. We planted a small tree about three years ago. They take a while to get established -- this is our first year with a real fig crop. From that one tree we got enough fruit to make 1 1/2 batches, plus enough figs left over for fresh snacking. The tree is lovely, low-maintenance, and now gives enough shade to provide a summer outdoor sitting haven. So if you live in a relatively warm part of the world, I strongly recommend a fig tree + this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Delicious!! I tweaked this a bit...my kids like jam...not preserves. I followed this recipe exactly, except that I blended the mix to turn it into a jam. I continued to cook it until the recipe was reduced to a jam-like consistency. My kids gobbled up a sample on toast while I was canning it....not sure one of the jars will make it to storage before it disappears!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
OMG!!! I did not think I was gonna like this jelly because I love figs so much, but you can still taste the figs so much! IT IS HEAVENLY!!!!!!!!! I cant imagine anyone not rating it 5 stars! The only thing I am changing is that I am freezing my figs first, then thawing them so that they break down and not stay whole, although it did not stop me from eating half the jar at each sitting! The other seasonings added a touch of taste and did not overpower the figs, my hubby loved it too, I have 3 gallons of figs waiting in the freezer, I am ready!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaDar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I just made these for the first time and they were delicious. Well what I licked off the spoon and pan was as I am letting the jars sit for 2 days like the recipe says. I did it just like written except I only had ground ginger and one lemon so I used them and added lime juice for the 1 T. I don't think it made a big difference but plan to make just like recipe next time. I used brown turkey figs. Thanks for sharing this recipe Delanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Can this recipe be made with dried figs? should dried figs be hydrated before use and then use same amount as fresh. Recipe sounds wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Not having had much experience with figs, this was the first recipe I tried as a way of preserving them...so happy with the results. This is my second year making batches of it, and we had no problem getting rid of all I canned last year! While my kids like them smashed up on biscuits, I love them over plain yogurt topped with chopped almonds!The texture is not a jelly or jam, but whole figs in a flavorful syrup. I use more figs than the recipe calls for, more like 8 cups per batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I've just recently gotten into canning and I've always been obsessed with figs in all their forms so I thought I'd try this. Oh my goodness, SO delicious. I used these figs in marinades (esp with pork tenderloin) and also on toasts/crackers with cream cheese.... everyone I know is obssessed with them and always wants more more more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
i have made this recipe numerous times now and it is fantastik.. i have used just lemon juice and i have used the fresh lemon and both were delish.. my friends and neighbors beg me for them. having 6 trees in my neighbors yard i do stay busy. the only change i make is that i cut the figs up . most of the time im using them for fig newtons anyhow. btw store bought fig newtons do not have real figs in them. but mine do..lol. great job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I just made the figs and followed the directions. The figs tasted great and the jars looked beautiful after processing. When I looked at the jars the next morning, after leaving them on the counter overnight, the butter had risen to the top of the jar and throughout the preserves. What did I do wrong? Has anyone else had this happen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gorman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Tastes like apple butter. Nice flavor, but not like fig preserves. Otherwise a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States