Real Fig Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Southern Eye-talian
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I used a previous posters suggestion of taking out the cooked figs and chopping them up as we prefer to not have the big chunks. I followed recipe to the letter. It made four 4oz jars and one 8oz jar. Two did not seal but I guess that just means I have to eat it! From what I tasted off of the spoon and bowl it is yummy! Made the house smell DIVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Plan to try it as soon as my husband is done picking them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this after a bumper crop this summer. It turned out absolutely perfect. Unbelievable flavor. Perfect on hot buttered biscuits!!! I mash my cooked figs but do not cut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daylily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Loved by friends and family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Shazam! Loved it -- LOVED IT! I thought this recipe would be good just from reading it. The positive reviews from other users made me even more confident. But the final product we wound up with surpassed even these optimistic expectations. We'll definitely be making this again -- a new family favorite! We put in a little bit more lemon, but then again, our family likes distinctive flavors. Going with the original recipe's lemon quotient would, in my opinion, also give an outstanding batch of preserves. We had to cook the preserves for about 25 additional minutes. I think we had the heat turned down a trifle low. When we got to the end of the originally stated cooking time, the figs were still "swimming" in liquid instead of "wading" in it. A tad more heat and, as already stated, 25 additional minutes brought them to where they needed to be. We used our own backyard figs for this recipe. We planted a small tree about three years ago. They take a while to get established -- this is our first year with a real fig crop. From that one tree we got enough fruit to make 1 1/2 batches, plus enough figs left over for fresh snacking. The tree is lovely, low-maintenance, and now gives enough shade to provide a summer outdoor sitting haven. So if you live in a relatively warm part of the world, I strongly recommend a fig tree + this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Delicious!! I tweaked this a bit...my kids like jam...not preserves. I followed this recipe exactly, except that I blended the mix to turn it into a jam. I continued to cook it until the recipe was reduced to a jam-like consistency. My kids gobbled up a sample on toast while I was canning it....not sure one of the jars will make it to storage before it disappears!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
OMG!!! I did not think I was gonna like this jelly because I love figs so much, but you can still taste the figs so much! IT IS HEAVENLY!!!!!!!!! I cant imagine anyone not rating it 5 stars! The only thing I am changing is that I am freezing my figs first, then thawing them so that they break down and not stay whole, although it did not stop me from eating half the jar at each sitting! The other seasonings added a touch of taste and did not overpower the figs, my hubby loved it too, I have 3 gallons of figs waiting in the freezer, I am ready!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I just made these for the first time and they were delicious. Well what I licked off the spoon and pan was as I am letting the jars sit for 2 days like the recipe says. I did it just like written except I only had ground ginger and one lemon so I used them and added lime juice for the 1 T. I don't think it made a big difference but plan to make just like recipe next time. I used brown turkey figs. Thanks for sharing this recipe Delanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Jenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Can this recipe be made with dried figs? should dried figs be hydrated before use and then use same amount as fresh. Recipe sounds wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Not having had much experience with figs, this was the first recipe I tried as a way of preserving them...so happy with the results. This is my second year making batches of it, and we had no problem getting rid of all I canned last year! While my kids like them smashed up on biscuits, I love them over plain yogurt topped with chopped almonds!The texture is not a jelly or jam, but whole figs in a flavorful syrup. I use more figs than the recipe calls for, more like 8 cups per batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States