Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
FINALLY! I have found a true to form recipe for rellenos! My whole family loves these, including the 7 year old. When I separate eggs for other recipes, I freeze any leftover egg whites so I always have them around. The sauce in this recipe is really special. That little bit of cinnamon sends the flavor over the top. Make the effort...such a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Labor-intensive, but worth it! Definitely agree that if you're going to do 4, you might as well do 8, or 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Totally delicious. Followed pretty much exactly. 45 minutes prep time is dreaming, though. Plan ahead, but do make this. Also, doubling the sauce would not make you sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Fantastic. The sauce was to die for!! I'm going to try using it with other recipes. Wish I had used rubber gloves when I peeled and cleaned the peppers because my hands burned for awhile. Well worth the extra time and effort to create a really really good relleno. Next time I'm going to take one persons advice and make a bunch of peppers and extra sauce and freeze to be used as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Soooo good!!! Everyone I've ever made these for say they are the best they have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Easier than it seems. Just time consuming. Absolutely delicious. I did the roasting and stuffing and freezing part a week b4 i finished the rest of the recipe. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I added a bit of cream cheese to the cheese mixture to keep it together, which made it easier to work with. I also did not have enough of one kind of oil so I had to combine a mishmash of coconut, canola, and avocado oil. It worked! This was even better than in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This is the first time I've made Chiles Rellenos from scratch. They were well worth the effort! I made and stuffed them early in the day and froze them, as directed. The batter is so wonderful and delicate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I tried this recipe when I was out of the red chile powder I needed to make my favorite red chile sauce for rellenos. I've been making homemade Chile Rellenos for over 30 years now and make the batter for the rellenos pretty much the same way as this recipe. It takes a bit of work but the results are delicious and not the least bit heavy or greasy . I tried the sauce recipe here but in my opinion, it was too tomato-y and did not work well with the relleno. Out here in New Mexico we (strongly) favor a sauce made from pureed red chiles, using no tomatoes, cinnamon, etc. for our rellenos. So, for the battered chiles, I give this 5 stars. I give the sauce 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I think that Chihuahua cheese is the only cheese to use for chiles rellenos. I will stick to the way I make them. Much simpler and better tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alma
Living In: Westchester, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States