Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Oh my goodness, I wish there were more stars. This is one of the best recipes on Allrecipes.com. Did not change a thing. The sauce is out of this world!! Thank you, thank you, thank you....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4Food

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Wow, these are really good. I made it just as instructed, except that I didn't have Mexican-style stewed tomatoes or Mexican oregano, so just used plain canned tomatoes and plain oregano. I also had Chihuahua cheese in the fridge so just used that instead of all the other cheeses. I thought these were amazing, but my husband thought they were too spicy. It was tricky doing the coating and frying - that'll take practice, but they were really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Oh, it is me again, Ellie May! I LOVE this recipe, it is a pain to do it all right but SO worth it! If you are going to do 4 chiles, go ahead and do 8-12, depending on size; eggwhites in the original recipe will allow for this. I make this 2-5 times a year, but mostly when Hatch, NM chiles are in harvest. We roast 20-40 lbs. of green chiles on our grill then freeze them, setting aside BIG fleshy/straight ones for this recipe so we can cook these all year. Best tip: cheese/flour them on all sides and freeze individually on cookie sheets. Once they are frozen, dump in a freezer bag so you can finish anytime in the winter when fresh isn't available. Cover again w/flour right before dipping in eggwhite then frying. I cook them slightly frozen so the cheese won't melt in the frying pan! I usually cook the sauce and only put in the food processor AFTER cooking it all together, so it will be smooth. And I save THAT too, in a freezerbag! When defrosting sauce, I may add fresh lime juice, or other spices to spark it up. MOST IMPORTANT, make sure egg whites are ROOM TEMP before whipping, and oil in frying pan is so hot in an iron skillet, that it is SCARY! Stay on top of it and turn with tongs; drain oil off on paper towels. Serve with sour cream and/or avocados for those that cannot take the heat, plus some hot sauce from MEXICO to keep authentic for those who want more! Nothing is better with this than a slice of lime, and a Negro Modelo Beer in a frosty glass. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My family loved these! Although time-consuming, I thought they were worth it. I'll be making these again, and actually plan to make the sauce for topping enchiladas. Yummy sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
THIS RECIPE IS FABULOUS! I have made it at least seven times and it comes out perfectly. The red sauce is so tasty, I always double the recipe on the sauce so I can use it in other recipes during the week! I also have added some ricotta to the cheese/stuffing mixture to help hold it all together. I have also found success in using a deep bowl to batter the chilis before fryiing, dipping the chili all the way in and using a spoon to drege the batter up the chili. Try this recipe, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Gluten-free option: I substituted the "all purpose flour" for King Arthur's Gluten-free all purpose flour with excellent results. The thickness of the egg whites made sticking and "puffing" the flour possible so no one noticed they were GF. I agree with all comments that they are great and authentic, I used Valentina hot sauce instead of Cholula and a blend of "quesadilla" cheese and Monterrey Jack. Not sure if the GF flour crisped faster than regular flour but I had a feeling that the cheese had not melted inside the peppers after I was done frying, so after frying and getting all sides golden I just absorbed the excess oil with a paper towel and popped them I to the oven alongside the tomato sauce that awaited and this made sure that I had perfect gooey centers in all. All my husband's relatives (who do not eat much Mexican food) gobbled them down. I served them alongside Mexican style rice (arroz rojo) and a zucchini/corn "soup". Very pleased with the recipe and the tip on freezing the peppers, I had never done that but it worked really well. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bessiedarlin
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Loved this recipe! The chiles were delicious! The batter was exceptional and the inside was scrumptious. I was not a huge fan of the cinnamon in the sauce; but otherwise, a huge success! Thank you!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bessiedarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This is a great, authentic recipe! Tastes very close to my favorite Mexican Restaurant in Rockford Il, Dos Reales! Yummy!! I thought it was going to be hard to make, but it was well written and easy to follow. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
these were good. i was worried about the cheese oozing out. As long as you pat the batter on thick, all is well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Great recipe! Don't pass this up because of the length of the ingredient list (you will have most of them in your cupboard) or the length of instructions. They are just very detailed so the recipe is fool proof. Not that it isn't time consuming; I will be taking the advice to make the peppers ahead of time and freezing them to cut down on prep time the day of. Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States