Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I use the side of a spoon to scrape/remove the charred skin from the chilis & it works great without tearing the soft chili! Be sure your oil is hot when you start to batter the chilis so you can lay them directly into the pan. The batter is kinda delicate, treat it gently :o) You can also remove the 1 egg yolk completely & just use the egg whites...I like it either way. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Thanks so much for taking the time to post this awesome dish, *Fat~Dog! To be fair, I love this dish but my kids hated it. To me, the breaded and cheese-filled peppers reminded me of being off the beaten path in Cancun to eat dinner: so delicious! The accompanying sauce I did not so favor, though I could not find Mexican Stewed Tomatoes nor Mexican Oregano, so I had to use the usual versions of those and instead added a little bit of chile peppers and their juice to the sauce which surely would have changed it. This is a rather labor-intensive dish, so start making it well in advance of a meal. I would also recommend just deep-frying the peppers to ensure the cheese inside melts thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by Rora Starita
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I loved this! It came out very authentic tasting... and better than the Mexican restaurants in town because they seem to be getting more and more flavorless. I didn't use this recipes sauce because I had one I wanted to use from a farmer's market but I did follow the recipe for the pepper and batter, except forgoing the egg yolk, as suggested by another user and, instead of buying all of those cheeses, I used the authentic mexican style kraft natural.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rora Starita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hickory Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I've been looking for this recipe for a while. I absolutely LOVE IT Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunday35
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
My husband would order Chiles Rellenos every time we went to any Mexican resturaunt. After tasting "mine"... this recipe...we no longer have to go OUT for his favorite dish. I will stage peppers frozen so they can be cooked at any notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I really liked this but my fiance really didn't. He found it too spicy, I on the other thought the heat was nice though a little on the hot side. But that can be easily adjusted. Cheese-wise I used a light, mild white cheddar, a mild yellow cheddar and Parmesan as those are what I had on hand. For the sauce I used regular oregano and Italian-style stewed tomatoes as I didn't see the Mexican varieties at the grocery store. We used Frank's Red Hot as our hot sauce. I didn't puree the stewed tomatoes as I like my tomato sauces chunky. We only did one coat of the breading and skipped the freezer step as we were a little rushed on time. I thought they came out great, both in taste and the way they looked. We didn't serve these with sour cream, though I now realize that would've toned down the heat for sure. Would be excellent over rice. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I eat this at nearly every Mexican restaurant we go to, and this recipe was excellent! Although it took quite awhile to prepare, it was worth it. The fluffy egg white batter made a nice, thick and crispy crust. The freezer part was really smart because of the type of batter; it would have been hard to coat the peppers if they were soft. I used some quesdilla and cotija cheese that I had on hand, but it did not melt very well, after just 5 minutes of frying on each side, so perhaps I will deep-fry next time as someone suggested. I was too worried to leave them frying longer because I wanted to keep the light golden brown crust. Zapped leftovers in the microwave the second day, and still good. Served with some red beans and rice on the side to round out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is an excellent recipe: very clearly written with step by step directions that won't let you fail. And the final dish??? Superb and very authentic. It's not a super difficult recipe, but will take some time and probably suited for at least the intermediate cook. But definetly try this one. Make your sauce while the chiles sit for a bit in the freezer. I usually tweek recipes that I read, and the only thing I did differently here was to use long cubes of mexican melting cheese (queso quesadilla) instead of the shredded mix, because that is what I had in the frig. But really, I wouldn't change a thing. This recipe is PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Okay. So these are amazing. I don't know what Mexican stewed tomatoes are, so I just made the sauce with Ro-Tel tomatoes and chiles, and used fresh oregano instead of dried for the sauce. It was very spicy and good, and a snap in the magic bullet! For the shredded cheeses, I bought a bag of pre-shredded Mexican blend, and just wet it slightly with water to get it to stick. Freezing was a bad idea. When I deep fried them, the cheese was frozen, and to cook them long enough to melt it would have burned the batter. I heated them in the microwave for a few seconds to melt, but it was still a bit of a disappointment. Next time I will chill in the fridge instead. Also, I used the batter from the "Chile Relleno" recipe from this site, as the batter in this recipe seemed like a ridiculous amount of eggs for only 4 peppers. Can't say I would bother with this one. The batter was deliciously light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
That's just the way my mother made them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States