Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I used a few pointers from this recipe to go along with my boyfriend's moms version which has its own sauce which we used. He even said it was better than hers!!! That earns 5 stars..... The double flouring and freezing for 30 minutes was key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
i've made this twice and it was fantastic both times. I would give it five stars, but it's really hard to work with and the sauce never thickens. Otherwise, fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was pretty close to how mom makes hers. I loved the fluffyness I got with the batter, made for fluffy golden chiles which is always how I want my chiles. For the sopa I just added sauteed onions, garlic, tomatoes to a pot of light chicken broth. All the additional spices are not needed in my household...overall, great instructions for a classic that can easily get ruined if proper steps ar not followed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I finally found the mexican style stewed tomatoes at kroger. Regarding the cheeses, I used 1/2c shredded mozzarella, and 1c kraft crumbled monterey jack, colby and cheddar mixture,because it's all I had. The crumbs had no problems melting at all. Being middle eastern, I have experience stuffing grape leaves and other veggies, however the slitting of the charred poblanos and then stuffing and sealing was a little more difficult for me than what I'm used to. Next time,I will try coring the top off (with the seeds) and removing the veins before charring the peppers on the bbq grill. It should be easier because the peppers are still hard, but I will put the tops back on when I char them. And then when they're blackened, I'll just remove the skins, stuff the peppers with the cheeses (from the top), put the top back on, and proceed with the rest of the cooking instructions. The top shouldn't fall off, but you can use a toothpick to secure it. To my amazement, this was very delicious, and my husband loved the sauce! I found out that the batter isn't the kind where you just dip your veggie and voila, as I really had to try to make it stick using a spoon. Also, make sure to pick the peppers that have no dips or dents (it'll be easier to devein and stuff). I might try 4 egg whites instead of 5 next time, and by the way, I scrambled the leftover egg yolks, cooked them, and served them in the same plate as the chile rellenos and they were delish! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Best chile rellenos I've ever had! I've tried a few different recipes and also had these in restaurants, and nothing beats these. I was pretty lazy about following the recipe, too. For the sauce, I threw everything in the vitamix and pureed it all before putting it on the stove to reduce it. Also, I never froze the peppers. Still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. I added a square of chili chocolate and some chili powder to the sauce. We also saved some calories by baking the peppers instead of breading and frying them. I will definitly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefinit

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
The sauce turned out great. I really loved it. But used the sauce on top of a bed of chicken, beans, rice, and greens and it was wonderful! The addition of the little bit of cinnamon was perfect. I tried to make the chiles and I just can't seem to get it right. my chiles were thin and split and there was no way I was going to get them fried. So I buttoned them up the best I could and then sprinkled panko breading on top and put them in the oven for about 8 min to melt the cheese and crisp the panko. Aside from the Hatch green chiles(which may be my problem) being REALLY SPICY, they turned out well. Highly recommend the panko breading on top. No frying needed and still has the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This sauce is worth the time to make. It is amazingly yummy. I am also going to put it on our burritos, for wet burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Fabuloso classic chiles rellenos-my all-time fave Mexican dish. I simplyfy the sauce by just whizzing the mexican stewed tomatoes in food processor without other additions - not needed IMO. Sometimes add some sauteed garlic and onion, but great without too. Also, don't worry if you don't have the combo of cheeses called for in the recipe - just about any mix of chees will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
These were great!! Time-intensive, but easy to follow instructions. I will not have to search for good chile rellenos in restaurants anymore. Better yet, none of the ingredients are expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States