Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. I added a square of chili chocolate and some chili powder to the sauce. We also saved some calories by baking the peppers instead of breading and frying them. I will definitly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefinit

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
The sauce turned out great. I really loved it. But used the sauce on top of a bed of chicken, beans, rice, and greens and it was wonderful! The addition of the little bit of cinnamon was perfect. I tried to make the chiles and I just can't seem to get it right. my chiles were thin and split and there was no way I was going to get them fried. So I buttoned them up the best I could and then sprinkled panko breading on top and put them in the oven for about 8 min to melt the cheese and crisp the panko. Aside from the Hatch green chiles(which may be my problem) being REALLY SPICY, they turned out well. Highly recommend the panko breading on top. No frying needed and still has the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This sauce is worth the time to make. It is amazingly yummy. I am also going to put it on our burritos, for wet burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Fabuloso classic chiles rellenos-my all-time fave Mexican dish. I simplyfy the sauce by just whizzing the mexican stewed tomatoes in food processor without other additions - not needed IMO. Sometimes add some sauteed garlic and onion, but great without too. Also, don't worry if you don't have the combo of cheeses called for in the recipe - just about any mix of chees will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
These were great!! Time-intensive, but easy to follow instructions. I will not have to search for good chile rellenos in restaurants anymore. Better yet, none of the ingredients are expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This recipe made me nervous, but I followed it to the T and I couldn't be more ecstatic about how it turned out. The chiles are so delicate after roasting and steaming that I just knew the cheese was going to end up in my oil and not in the chile. How wrong I was. The batter held them together beautifully and they were better than any I've ever had in a restaurant, if I may say so myself. Even my husband, ever the critic, was impressed. It definitely takes time but the effort put into them is so worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myndi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I was almost 110% positive I would fail at this recipe, but the directions were clear and the results were absolutely fabulous. Time consuming, but worth the wait. I've never had Chiles Rellenos before (gasp! I know), but these tasted fantastic and we'll be making these again in the future :). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Photo by elisasmama
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Amazing recipe! My family went nuts over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Great recipe! Don't pass this up because of the length of the ingredient list (you will have most of them in your cupboard) or the length of instructions. They are just very detailed so the recipe is fool proof. Not that it isn't time consuming; I will be taking the advice to make the peppers ahead of time and freezing them to cut down on prep time the day of. Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
these were good. i was worried about the cheese oozing out. As long as you pat the batter on thick, all is well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States