Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I was almost 110% positive I would fail at this recipe, but the directions were clear and the results were absolutely fabulous. Time consuming, but worth the wait. I've never had Chiles Rellenos before (gasp! I know), but these tasted fantastic and we'll be making these again in the future :). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Photo by elisasmama
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Amazing recipe! My family went nuts over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Great recipe! Don't pass this up because of the length of the ingredient list (you will have most of them in your cupboard) or the length of instructions. They are just very detailed so the recipe is fool proof. Not that it isn't time consuming; I will be taking the advice to make the peppers ahead of time and freezing them to cut down on prep time the day of. Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
these were good. i was worried about the cheese oozing out. As long as you pat the batter on thick, all is well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This is a great, authentic recipe! Tastes very close to my favorite Mexican Restaurant in Rockford Il, Dos Reales! Yummy!! I thought it was going to be hard to make, but it was well written and easy to follow. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bessiedarlin
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Loved this recipe! The chiles were delicious! The batter was exceptional and the inside was scrumptious. I was not a huge fan of the cinnamon in the sauce; but otherwise, a huge success! Thank you!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bessiedarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Gluten-free option: I substituted the "all purpose flour" for King Arthur's Gluten-free all purpose flour with excellent results. The thickness of the egg whites made sticking and "puffing" the flour possible so no one noticed they were GF. I agree with all comments that they are great and authentic, I used Valentina hot sauce instead of Cholula and a blend of "quesadilla" cheese and Monterrey Jack. Not sure if the GF flour crisped faster than regular flour but I had a feeling that the cheese had not melted inside the peppers after I was done frying, so after frying and getting all sides golden I just absorbed the excess oil with a paper towel and popped them I to the oven alongside the tomato sauce that awaited and this made sure that I had perfect gooey centers in all. All my husband's relatives (who do not eat much Mexican food) gobbled them down. I served them alongside Mexican style rice (arroz rojo) and a zucchini/corn "soup". Very pleased with the recipe and the tip on freezing the peppers, I had never done that but it worked really well. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
THIS RECIPE IS FABULOUS! I have made it at least seven times and it comes out perfectly. The red sauce is so tasty, I always double the recipe on the sauce so I can use it in other recipes during the week! I also have added some ricotta to the cheese/stuffing mixture to help hold it all together. I have also found success in using a deep bowl to batter the chilis before fryiing, dipping the chili all the way in and using a spoon to drege the batter up the chili. Try this recipe, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My family loved these! Although time-consuming, I thought they were worth it. I'll be making these again, and actually plan to make the sauce for topping enchiladas. Yummy sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Oh my goodness, I wish there were more stars. This is one of the best recipes on Allrecipes.com. Did not change a thing. The sauce is out of this world!! Thank you, thank you, thank you....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4Food

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States