Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I love chele Rellenos, so to find this recipe made my day! And this recipe was so well written! I loved the authentic taste of the sauce. I did use a can of tomato sauce to save the step of pureeing the tomatoes....1 less bowl or blender to clean. I also used Mexican cheese to make it even more authentic. I think the most time consuming part of this recipe is the charring and removing of the pepper skin, but oh so necessary. To save time in the future, I have 6 in the freezer, all prepped and ready to go! Thanks Fat Dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I was so excited to make these after reading all the reviews. I kept trying to tell myself that all the mess and effort would pay off, but in the end, I was disappointed. The sauce was delicious on its own, and I plan to keep that part of the recipe for other things, but the finished relleno was missing something, and didn't really have the flavor of a restaurant chile relleno. A lot of effort that I don't plan to expend again...next time, will just go out for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynnell Taylor
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
These are the best! We LOVED them. I recommend having at least 2 cooks in the kitchen though because I did it by myself and it was a LOT of work. However, they are so good it's worth the work and I've made them twice now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnell Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythe, California, USA
Living In: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
These were the best rellenos we have ever had. It was a bit of effort but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
A 5 star winner!! Worth the time to make them !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
A great recipe just hard to get all the seeds out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Robinson Burger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Hephzibah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I recently made this dish for a cooking contest and WON!! We served the Rellenos with Black bean Salsa over Fried Cornbread!! The sauce is to die for!! I substituted cornmeal for flour in all applications for a little crunch...it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was delish! A little time consuming, but fun for a Saturday afternoon. This is the first recipe I've rated or reviewed. I loved it! Definitely a keeper! The only change I made was using powdered chicken bullion and 1 cup of water, instead of the chicken broth in the sauce, because that is what I had. Like one of the other reviewers, I sauteed the onion and garlic in oil, then added it to the blender with the can of tomatoes, then pureed the whole thing. Returned to stove, added spices and simmered about 20 minutes. Thank you for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
These were good, but took a long time to prepare. I will probably make again but will split preparation between two days. I will also pump up the heat. I used chiles (not chilis) but still too mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
WOW! This is PERFECT! The sauce is delicious. I didn't measure and added a little more cinnamon than I wanted, but it was still amazing. I also added a bay leaf. I wish I had bought more poblanos and doubled the sauce to pig out. My husband loves it. It did seem like it took a lot of time, but now maybe that i've done it it will be faster through steps. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States