Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
A 5 star winner!! Worth the time to make them !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
A great recipe just hard to get all the seeds out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Unique_Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Hephzibah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I recently made this dish for a cooking contest and WON!! We served the Rellenos with Black bean Salsa over Fried Cornbread!! The sauce is to die for!! I substituted cornmeal for flour in all applications for a little crunch...it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was delish! A little time consuming, but fun for a Saturday afternoon. This is the first recipe I've rated or reviewed. I loved it! Definitely a keeper! The only change I made was using powdered chicken bullion and 1 cup of water, instead of the chicken broth in the sauce, because that is what I had. Like one of the other reviewers, I sauteed the onion and garlic in oil, then added it to the blender with the can of tomatoes, then pureed the whole thing. Returned to stove, added spices and simmered about 20 minutes. Thank you for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
These were good, but took a long time to prepare. I will probably make again but will split preparation between two days. I will also pump up the heat. I used chiles (not chilis) but still too mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
WOW! This is PERFECT! The sauce is delicious. I didn't measure and added a little more cinnamon than I wanted, but it was still amazing. I also added a bay leaf. I wish I had bought more poblanos and doubled the sauce to pig out. My husband loves it. It did seem like it took a lot of time, but now maybe that i've done it it will be faster through steps. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I used a few pointers from this recipe to go along with my boyfriend's moms version which has its own sauce which we used. He even said it was better than hers!!! That earns 5 stars..... The double flouring and freezing for 30 minutes was key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
i've made this twice and it was fantastic both times. I would give it five stars, but it's really hard to work with and the sauce never thickens. Otherwise, fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was pretty close to how mom makes hers. I loved the fluffyness I got with the batter, made for fluffy golden chiles which is always how I want my chiles. For the sopa I just added sauteed onions, garlic, tomatoes to a pot of light chicken broth. All the additional spices are not needed in my household...overall, great instructions for a classic that can easily get ruined if proper steps ar not followed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I finally found the mexican style stewed tomatoes at kroger. Regarding the cheeses, I used 1/2c shredded mozzarella, and 1c kraft crumbled monterey jack, colby and cheddar mixture,because it's all I had. The crumbs had no problems melting at all. Being middle eastern, I have experience stuffing grape leaves and other veggies, however the slitting of the charred poblanos and then stuffing and sealing was a little more difficult for me than what I'm used to. Next time,I will try coring the top off (with the seeds) and removing the veins before charring the peppers on the bbq grill. It should be easier because the peppers are still hard, but I will put the tops back on when I char them. And then when they're blackened, I'll just remove the skins, stuff the peppers with the cheeses (from the top), put the top back on, and proceed with the rest of the cooking instructions. The top shouldn't fall off, but you can use a toothpick to secure it. To my amazement, this was very delicious, and my husband loved the sauce! I found out that the batter isn't the kind where you just dip your veggie and voila, as I really had to try to make it stick using a spoon. Also, make sure to pick the peppers that have no dips or dents (it'll be easier to devein and stuff). I might try 4 egg whites instead of 5 next time, and by the way, I scrambled the leftover egg yolks, cooked them, and served them in the same plate as the chile rellenos and they were delish! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States