Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Would give it 5 stars if it wasn't for the huge amount it takes to make. The batter didn't really stick either. But the taste gets 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Definitely a keeper. It's a rich dish, however, and really must be served with Spanish rice. Suggest you make the sauce ahead of time; it's a lot to contend with at one time. The peppers, after being broiled and skinned, are quite fragile and need tender care and attention while stuffing and cooking. Did not need toothpicks to keep them together; doubt the toothpicks would have kept them together in any event. Just held the cheese-filled mushy peppers together with my hands as I dredged them in flour; placed them carefully on the tray and the flour kept them together. Being in the freezer 30 minutes keeps them from falling apart during the breading. I only used 4 eggs (4 whites and 1 egg yoke) as I was using extra large eggs. Still had enough batter left for 1-2 more peppers. Next time I'll just use 3 eggs for 4 peppers. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet. It is one of my favorite Mexican dishes and this is an authentic restaurant style rellenos. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Yummy! This took me way longer than expected, as it was my first time making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
awesome oppossom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann McClure
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
AWESOME!!! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This recipe is the best I've found for authentic chiles rellenos. Labor intensive, yes, and worth every second it takes to make them, and the sauce is better than many sauces I've tried over the years in various restaurants; a perfect balance of sweetness, tartness and warm, spicy notes. Very, very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerville, Utah, USA
Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
So Good...light fluffy batter for frying. New favorite for our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mars

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
We have been making rellenos for years but have never dredged the chiles or put them in the freezer, that just put it over the top. For anyone looking for the real thing this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by topfuel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
There is truly no way to describe how delicious this is! The only thing I did differently was I blackened the peppers on the flame of the gas stove. Everything else was followed. I love this recipe. You can add pepper jack cheese to give it a little kick. I have played around with different types of cheeses. I don't it gets better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States