Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I really liked these, but my husband thought they were to spicy. I used green chiles from a friends garden. I too had tiny holes in my chiles from removing the seeds, but cheese didn't spill out. I baked mine because I do not usually fry or deep fry. I will try frying next time. I could not make the sauce because I sent hubby to the grocery and he forgot the stewed tomatoes. Served with spanish rice and sour cream. I will make these ahead and freeze them until ready to use to cute down on prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
A different texture then what you would find in a Mexican restaurant but still truly amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cole8587

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
OMG...these are awesome!!! I used Hot Hatch Peppers and the heat was perfect. Also, I didn't freeze before frying and they were perfect! The batter is light and crispy. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe with the world:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Absolutely delicious. My husband and I have a favorite Mexican Restaurant and love their chiles rellenos. This recipe was just as good. Having said that, be prepared, this takes a long time. There's nothing particularly difficult (although peeling the peppers is a pain), it's just time consuming. I thought for sure the filling would ooze out because i kept getting slits in the peppers, but I think freezing them helped to avoid that. Also, I couldn't find Mexican stewed tomatoes or Mexican oregano so I just used stewed tomatoes with celery, onion, and green peppers and regular oregano. I started making the dish at 6:00 thinking it would be ready when my husband got home from work at 7:30. It was closer to 8:00 by the time we ate. Well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reena
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
The BEST relleno recipe I've ever had. Yes - it was time consuming... but it was simple! Amazing flavor! The freezer trick was perfect. The sauce was unbelievable. Love love love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This recipe is amazing! I've had my fair share of attempts at making chile rellenos and they have never come out as perfect as these do. My dad orders chile rellenos everytime we go to a mexican restaurant and he claims he has yet to find any that will beat these. I think the sauce also really makes the dish, it's delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is the best chiles rellenos recipe I've ever made. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Naus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Would give it 5 stars if it wasn't for the huge amount it takes to make. The batter didn't really stick either. But the taste gets 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Definitely a keeper. It's a rich dish, however, and really must be served with Spanish rice. Suggest you make the sauce ahead of time; it's a lot to contend with at one time. The peppers, after being broiled and skinned, are quite fragile and need tender care and attention while stuffing and cooking. Did not need toothpicks to keep them together; doubt the toothpicks would have kept them together in any event. Just held the cheese-filled mushy peppers together with my hands as I dredged them in flour; placed them carefully on the tray and the flour kept them together. Being in the freezer 30 minutes keeps them from falling apart during the breading. I only used 4 eggs (4 whites and 1 egg yoke) as I was using extra large eggs. Still had enough batter left for 1-2 more peppers. Next time I'll just use 3 eggs for 4 peppers. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet. It is one of my favorite Mexican dishes and this is an authentic restaurant style rellenos. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States