Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
The real beauty of this is that after step 3, you can freeze these babies and wait until another time to finish cooking them (and the sauce). I do use other cheeses - no cheddar or mozzarella cheese at all! I have been making these for many years, and this recipe is almost identical to mine, with the exception of the cheeses. The only 'tip' I would add is that when you start to fry the peppers, lower them very carefully into the hot oil and before you flip them, spoon some of the hot oil over the top of the egg mixture coating the peppers, otherwise, when you flip the pepper all of the batter will splatter off. Thanks "fat dog" for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa in New Orleans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Abita Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I loved it but my daughter didn't care for the texture. I will definitely make it again! Thank you for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
The good? It was ALL good. It took some work but most of it was in the side dishes and, since my electric mixer is on the fritz, I had to whisk the egg whites the old fashion way. My arm still aches. Would I do it all again? Absolutely! I was a little taken aback about putting the stuffed peppers for "at least 30 minutes," but I soon discovered that it is an integral step. It makes handling the once floppy peppers a breeze. Bottom line is it was a bit of work but the result was well worth it. I've paid $25+(each person) for these at a restaurant and they weren't as good. This recipe might cost $12 (plus sides) to feed 4. Go for it and make any personal adjustments to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I really liked these, but my husband thought they were to spicy. I used green chiles from a friends garden. I too had tiny holes in my chiles from removing the seeds, but cheese didn't spill out. I baked mine because I do not usually fry or deep fry. I will try frying next time. I could not make the sauce because I sent hubby to the grocery and he forgot the stewed tomatoes. Served with spanish rice and sour cream. I will make these ahead and freeze them until ready to use to cute down on prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
A different texture then what you would find in a Mexican restaurant but still truly amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cole8587

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
OMG...these are awesome!!! I used Hot Hatch Peppers and the heat was perfect. Also, I didn't freeze before frying and they were perfect! The batter is light and crispy. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe with the world:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Absolutely delicious. My husband and I have a favorite Mexican Restaurant and love their chiles rellenos. This recipe was just as good. Having said that, be prepared, this takes a long time. There's nothing particularly difficult (although peeling the peppers is a pain), it's just time consuming. I thought for sure the filling would ooze out because i kept getting slits in the peppers, but I think freezing them helped to avoid that. Also, I couldn't find Mexican stewed tomatoes or Mexican oregano so I just used stewed tomatoes with celery, onion, and green peppers and regular oregano. I started making the dish at 6:00 thinking it would be ready when my husband got home from work at 7:30. It was closer to 8:00 by the time we ate. Well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reena
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
The BEST relleno recipe I've ever had. Yes - it was time consuming... but it was simple! Amazing flavor! The freezer trick was perfect. The sauce was unbelievable. Love love love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This recipe is amazing! I've had my fair share of attempts at making chile rellenos and they have never come out as perfect as these do. My dad orders chile rellenos everytime we go to a mexican restaurant and he claims he has yet to find any that will beat these. I think the sauce also really makes the dish, it's delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is the best chiles rellenos recipe I've ever made. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Naus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States