Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I don't know if I did something wrong but the Chili's themselves the breading part had almost no flavor and all I tasted was a poblano pepper which is perfectly fine but I was thinking it would have more flavor on its own without the sauce. I will definitely try this again adding in some different seasonings to maybe kick it up a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda May

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
The sauce was delicious as is, but when I made this again with 1 large diced tomato, some oregano, cumin, salt, cinnamon, sriracha, and 2 tablespoons of salsa and it tasted so much fresher. A few of my peppers always seem to fall apart a bit after roasting them, but the batter seals the filling in quite well so when you fry the peppers everything stays together! Will definitely make this again, thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Made this recipe tonight and everybody loved it. The tomato sauce was fantastic. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very good and very authentic recipe! I avoided the freezing stage by using French fry-sized pieces of Monterey Jack and cheddar in place of the shredded cheeses. I had enough meringue to coat 6-8 chilies, so if you're going to take the time to make 4, why not make 8 instead? Poblano peppers are not particularly spicy, but the inch closest to the stem can be, so be careful! I suggest that you broil the chiles as close to the flames as you can get them. When I made these, I think some of the peppers were over-cooked because they started to split. A faster roasting probably would have avoided this outcome. I also used a clean paper bag instead if plastic because I don't really like the idea of putting hot things into plastic. Who knows what plasticizing agents come out of the plastic and into your food with the heat? As long as the chiles are well floured, you can ensure that they stay closed by coating them with the meringue and immediately frying. Overall, this recipe had wonderful flavor and a beautiful presentation. Now, if only I could find a super Mexican rice recipe . . . I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This is a great recipe. Yes it is a lot of work, but totally worth it. This is the same recipe my mom got from a Mexican friend years ago, so I know this is the real deal. The instructions were clear and direct. I do agree with another review stating this recipe is more suited for an intermediate to advanced cook. It was tough to get the timing right for the peppers along with the sides for this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
The 3 cheeses suggested for this recipe are completely wrong, the only type of cheese used should be Enchilado cheese. There are only 5 easy steps for chile rellenos trust me I've been making them for over 20 years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Alvarado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
THIS WAS THE BEST CHILI RELLENOS EVER..even better than most Mexican restaurants I've been to! I too, was very intimidated by the "list" of ingredients, just get over it! lol..I've made these several times now and freezing the peppers and sauce ahead of time is very time saving. I changed nothing! My husband loved them, my son, (40 yrs old) said I should get an award for best dish EVER!! So, thank you Fat Dog Lane for the best recipe EVER!! Sincerely, Melanie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mello2u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I just tried this recipe and my kids and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
OK, lets be very clear. What you put in the peppers influences the taste, but its the SAUCE that's amazing and makes this all worth it. Leftover sauce is good for just about anything, burritos, chips, eggs, anything! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This is a favorite in our house, we eat them every May 5th and I get excited about it months in advance :) My husband ate authentic homemade mexican food for a couple years and recommended I swap the tri-cheese blend for queso fresco. There wasn't any at the store so I bought Cotija cheese instead and it was so amazing I've never gone back! (way better than using monterey jack). I've also heard my mother-in-law say that the batter can be too eggy so I omitted 1 egg white from it (so I use 4 whites instead of 5) and I like it that way. They can be time consuming so I often prep the peppers the day before then leave them covered in the freezer overnight. My husband says they are the best he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States