Raw Vegan Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Very good. I used dates and 1/2 cup dark cocoa. Do not add water ! Just keep processing till the nuts have time to become nut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe is delicious! Add alittle more cocoa powder and they taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I followed the advice in the recipe description and used cherry Craisins in place of the raisins because I prefer them. I also used 1/3 cup cocoa powder. When I tried forming the "dough" I found it was extremely dry. The fruit and nuts were just covered in cocoa dust and not blended. I added 1/4 cup of water and re-mixed to make it come together, although this did make the dough quite sticky. When I tried them, they did not taste very good to me. Admittedly, I usually do not make raw vegan desserts, but I figured since I liked all the ingredients I would like the final result. I really did not. I think I would have been better off eating the fruit and nuts separately instead of making these. Sorry, this is just not the right recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I LOVE these brownies. First time I tried the recipe, I followed it exactly. The taste was great but my bars crumbled and were dry. If your brownies are dry use prunes, dates, or baking raisins. I modified the recipe to: 1/2 cups raisins, 1/2 cup prunes and 1/2 cup craisins (I like thicker brownies), I up'd the cocoa, and use 1 rounded cup of almonds. The result is super moist brownies. The craisins and cocoa go so well together! This is a wonderful natural recipe, thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
being vegan + gluten free, this is WONDERFUL. I did have to add almond milk... it wouldn't blend into a formable dough for me otherwise... Oh, and I used dates. Altogether, seriously delicious. I didn't realize it would be sweet, but it is. almost like a BROWNIE, wow :) So happy with how tasty they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah T

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Add a pinch of salt and some vanilla! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very yummy, i enjoyed this recipe a lot. I did, however, add honey to it for a sweeter taste but it tastes very fudgy and crunchy! The dough formed quickly the second time I tried this recipe. It really is a fail proof recipe if you follow the instructions and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I have a cousin on the raw food diet, that swears by it for optimal energy and rapid weight loss. I told him I would test and pass on recipes he might like. I made 1/4 recipe and didn't feel like the ingredients transformed themselves into anymore then they were. To top, when I ground it all together I had more of a ground nut look then something that could be shaped. I had to sprinkle water to shape the pieces. I made a reduced amount of another raw brownie recipe on the site the other day which tasted more like brownies or like a no bake cookie. It had honey instead of the raisins. This is healthy, but the predominant flavor is raisins. I am not getting any real brownie flavor. It is more like a cocoa raisin bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Delicious and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ballance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
A great way to satisfy a sweet tooth in a healthy way! I really want to give this recipe a '5'...after following the recipe, I thought that it tasted pretty good, but wanted to add a little bit more of something. So, I drizzled some honey, splashed a bit of vanilla extract, and added a dash of sea salt into the mixture. Also, I folded a handful of walnut pieces into the "dough". For added firmness, I chilled it in refrigerator before serving. With these little modifications, I'd have to say that I'm very satisfied with the results! :) It's a keeper! Thanks for the nutritious dessert idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States