Raw Vegan Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Very good. I used dates and 1/2 cup dark cocoa. Do not add water ! Just keep processing till the nuts have time to become nut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe is delicious! Add alittle more cocoa powder and they taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I followed the advice in the recipe description and used cherry Craisins in place of the raisins because I prefer them. I also used 1/3 cup cocoa powder. When I tried forming the "dough" I found it was extremely dry. The fruit and nuts were just covered in cocoa dust and not blended. I added 1/4 cup of water and re-mixed to make it come together, although this did make the dough quite sticky. When I tried them, they did not taste very good to me. Admittedly, I usually do not make raw vegan desserts, but I figured since I liked all the ingredients I would like the final result. I really did not. I think I would have been better off eating the fruit and nuts separately instead of making these. Sorry, this is just not the right recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I LOVE these brownies. First time I tried the recipe, I followed it exactly. The taste was great but my bars crumbled and were dry. If your brownies are dry use prunes, dates, or baking raisins. I modified the recipe to: 1/2 cups raisins, 1/2 cup prunes and 1/2 cup craisins (I like thicker brownies), I up'd the cocoa, and use 1 rounded cup of almonds. The result is super moist brownies. The craisins and cocoa go so well together! This is a wonderful natural recipe, thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
being vegan + gluten free, this is WONDERFUL. I did have to add almond milk... it wouldn't blend into a formable dough for me otherwise... Oh, and I used dates. Altogether, seriously delicious. I didn't realize it would be sweet, but it is. almost like a BROWNIE, wow :) So happy with how tasty they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah T

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I have a cousin on the raw food diet, that swears by it for optimal energy and rapid weight loss. I told him I would test and pass on recipes he might like. I made 1/4 recipe and didn't feel like the ingredients transformed themselves into anymore then they were. To top, when I ground it all together I had more of a ground nut look then something that could be shaped. I had to sprinkle water to shape the pieces. I made a reduced amount of another raw brownie recipe on the site the other day which tasted more like brownies or like a no bake cookie. It had honey instead of the raisins. This is healthy, but the predominant flavor is raisins. I am not getting any real brownie flavor. It is more like a cocoa raisin bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Add a pinch of salt and some vanilla! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very yummy, i enjoyed this recipe a lot. I did, however, add honey to it for a sweeter taste but it tastes very fudgy and crunchy! The dough formed quickly the second time I tried this recipe. It really is a fail proof recipe if you follow the instructions and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Delicious and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
A great way to satisfy a sweet tooth in a healthy way! I really want to give this recipe a '5'...after following the recipe, I thought that it tasted pretty good, but wanted to add a little bit more of something. So, I drizzled some honey, splashed a bit of vanilla extract, and added a dash of sea salt into the mixture. Also, I folded a handful of walnut pieces into the "dough". For added firmness, I chilled it in refrigerator before serving. With these little modifications, I'd have to say that I'm very satisfied with the results! :) It's a keeper! Thanks for the nutritious dessert idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States