Raw Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I'd like to add a clarification: To keep this recipe raw, you'll have to find raw tahini, which is delicious. Many tahinis are made from toasted, not raw, sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Spears

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I have made this twice. I love the process and the health benefits, but I found that it was missing something. I looked through a few other raw hummus recipes and found more spices added. I think that this is a great base recipe, I added another tbs of tahini and a little more lemon. The key ingredient for me was cumin. I added it little by little to taste, probably about half a tsp. It brought out that familiar taste I was hoping for. I made it in the evening and ate the whole tub by the next afternoon. Delicious. I suggest adding some flavor, but this is now my go to recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I added olive oil and more tahini. I loved it. The texture was different, but taste was good and very agreeable with the system. It made a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I did not care for this. It definitely tasted raw, I did follow the recipe exact. However, I now sprout my chickpeas for my other recipe (which then cooks the chick peas in the crock pot for 6 hours) This activates enzymes and makes it healthier, even though I did not like this recipe, I would like to say thanks for the idea to sprout first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Great recipe. Only I got impatient with sprouting time. In my 75 degree home, little nubbins of sprouts were seen after 24 hours, so I rinsed them, put them in my Vitamixer with water just to cover. Added Tahini, olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, Himalyan pink salt and finest ground pepper. It came out superb without have to wait or do the hot water thing. Try it. Commercial hummus gives me a stomach. Not this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This recipe has merit - definitely taste like the regular hummus which surprised me. I made a fo-pau in that I didn't let the water sit for 1 minute before placing the beans in the water for another minute. That may make them less raw for those who are strictly raw. I'm just trying to add more raw and less animal protein in my diet. Anyhow, I used a mixture of half chicken broth and half filtered water - and this is the mixture I put in the hummus. When I cook beans, normally I cook them in chicken broth.... but I think I want to try plain water next time. I used 3 tbsps. lemon juice, 2 1/2 heaping tbsps. home made tihini, 1 tsp, ground cummin and doubled the garlic. I used a food processor - which made it grainy. I will use the blender after the food processor next time. The hummus has a sweeter flavor than the cooked version... but I've found that to be true of many raw dishes I've prepared so far. Still experimenting with raw. BTW - I soaked the beans for 24 hours, rinsed them thoroughly once and let them stand in a collander overnight to get the water out. They have a very tiny nub - which means they were at the very early stage of sprouting... still ok to use this way. Rinsing every 12 hours is of major importance as is proper drainage when sprouting - if you don't do that, expect to get that fermenting or moldy thing going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
EXCELLENT!!!I will make this every few days.I whipped this up with my Vita mix,I didn't burn it up either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was awesome. The hummus was surprisingly rich and creamy for a recipe without any olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This recipe works. While it may be healthier, the texture isn't as good as when I cook dried garbanzos and make hummus the old-fashioned way. I also use more tahini and a little olive oil in mine. Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States