Raw Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I added olive oil and more tahini. I loved it. The texture was different, but taste was good and very agreeable with the system. It made a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I did not care for this. It definitely tasted raw, I did follow the recipe exact. However, I now sprout my chickpeas for my other recipe (which then cooks the chick peas in the crock pot for 6 hours) This activates enzymes and makes it healthier, even though I did not like this recipe, I would like to say thanks for the idea to sprout first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Great recipe. Only I got impatient with sprouting time. In my 75 degree home, little nubbins of sprouts were seen after 24 hours, so I rinsed them, put them in my Vitamixer with water just to cover. Added Tahini, olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, Himalyan pink salt and finest ground pepper. It came out superb without have to wait or do the hot water thing. Try it. Commercial hummus gives me a stomach. Not this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This recipe has merit - definitely taste like the regular hummus which surprised me. I made a fo-pau in that I didn't let the water sit for 1 minute before placing the beans in the water for another minute. That may make them less raw for those who are strictly raw. I'm just trying to add more raw and less animal protein in my diet. Anyhow, I used a mixture of half chicken broth and half filtered water - and this is the mixture I put in the hummus. When I cook beans, normally I cook them in chicken broth.... but I think I want to try plain water next time. I used 3 tbsps. lemon juice, 2 1/2 heaping tbsps. home made tihini, 1 tsp, ground cummin and doubled the garlic. I used a food processor - which made it grainy. I will use the blender after the food processor next time. The hummus has a sweeter flavor than the cooked version... but I've found that to be true of many raw dishes I've prepared so far. Still experimenting with raw. BTW - I soaked the beans for 24 hours, rinsed them thoroughly once and let them stand in a collander overnight to get the water out. They have a very tiny nub - which means they were at the very early stage of sprouting... still ok to use this way. Rinsing every 12 hours is of major importance as is proper drainage when sprouting - if you don't do that, expect to get that fermenting or moldy thing going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
EXCELLENT!!!I will make this every few days.I whipped this up with my Vita mix,I didn't burn it up either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was awesome. The hummus was surprisingly rich and creamy for a recipe without any olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This recipe works. While it may be healthier, the texture isn't as good as when I cook dried garbanzos and make hummus the old-fashioned way. I also use more tahini and a little olive oil in mine. Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Very, very good! My husband even said it was "comparable" to his "incomparable" favorite from a restaurant. Cannot stress enough the importance of the hot water dip; soaking beans leaves a bitter coating on the outside, and nothing else will wash it off. I actually sloshed my sprouts around in the hot water for five full minutes, which probably defeats the purpose of "raw," but I don't care. The sprouting alone increases the beans' nutrition and digestibility dramatically as it is. Also, the barely-cooked beans can make a grittier hummus if your food processor is not so snazzy. I used my blender and it was perfectly smooth and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Excellent taste. Never having tried a four-day recipe before, I enjoyed this, and let the beans sit in a 8 by 8 brownie pan for their sprouting, with plastic wrap over them. I spotted one moldy offender on the last day, so ventilation is important, and I will omit the plastic wrap next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lazy Caprese

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States