Raw Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I did exactly as it said, and it was nasty. The beans smelled foul after sprouting, and it tasted the same way. I did the boil water, sit for one minute thing and it was still awful. I think I will stick to the cooked chick peas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
A very tasty treat! I just finished blending the hummus after waiting through the soaking and sprouting stages eagerly...and I was not disappointed. I am going to start the next batch soaking today because I know the hummus I just made will not last for three days! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I love this simple hummus and it is quite easy to jazz it up and make it your own by adding different things such as garam masala or other spices. I recently also mixed pumpkin and doubled the spices. My brother in law ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
It's good, but after you put the beans in the hot water it's not really raw anymore. Rich, but not worth the effort for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Really good hummus, tastes like normal cooked hummus. As a matter of fact, after letting the beans steep in hot water for 60 seconds, they went from tasting like fresh peas to normal garbanzo beans. It makes me wonder just how "raw" they are in the final product. I'm sure they're a little better for you than canned garbanzo beans, but probably not by much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I thought i followed theis recipe exactly and to me, well, it just tasted raw. I threw the whole thing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I didn't find this any different from normal hummus, but it was just as good and also easier and better for you - so its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pacha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I cannot tell you how many hummus recipies I have tried. They've all been terrible. I was actually getting ready to give up, and go back to buying it, when I found this recipe! This hummus is fantastic. It's easy, a no-brainer to make and very healthy in that it's raw. My husband and even my TWO YEAR old love this hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I have to give this five stars. My husband ate almost the entire recipe by himself. It is EXTREMLY strange tasting, but very good. You almost think it has cheese in it because it's so rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it's nothing special. I prefer regular hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States