Raw Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Next time I plan to use less garlic and lemon. Plus I will cook those chickpeas longer. 1min of cooking left them still kind of hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I made this recipe as is and I have to say not only is it not worth the effort, I question the safety of eating it. I let the beans sit to sprout and within a few hours they began to get a funky smell. This funky smell continued to get stronger despite rinsing the beans twice a day. When they had fully sprouted several of the beans were actually moldy. We decided to make it anyway and even after submerging the beans in hot water the funky smell continued (we did remove the obviously modly beans). The taste is...well it's very sharp and sour. I don't think this is because of the lemon. We're going to eat it (because we don't like to throw things out) but we do have concerns as to whether or not its actually safe to eat. To make it taste more editible we had to add lots of cumin, more garlic and salt. And we had to add about twice the water to make it close to smooth. Oh, and it also blew out the motor on the blender we were making it in. And it was a Vita Mix $400 blender. Recipe not recommended at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Different from other cooked-bean varieties of hummus - this tastes fresh, clean and "sprouty". I used a tsp of garlic powder instead of fresh garlic because my kids aren't fans of spicy garlic, and I used liquid aminos instead of salt. I only had 1 T of tahini left in the jar so blended in some whole sesame seeds. The best part of this recipe was watching the beans come to life on the kitchen counter - the kids loved helping rinse them and check for sprouts (we sprouted the beans in a bowl covered with a towel). Thanks for the recipe, Emilkalil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
The blurb at the beginning is misleading - all hummus is "raw". I have never heard or seen a recipe where you cook hummus, so I am not sure where they are going with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Hols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
If you like hummus you'll love this. I even thinned out the leftovers and used it as a salad dressing. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Believe me, this is just like (or even better than) the regular humman from cooked chickpeas. Plus all the goodies from raw ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Really good. Excellant taste after the hummus was cold. Takes time to make but really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I was really excited to make this hummus after reading the great reviews, but after finishing it, I would be very hesitant to share it with anyone else. The flavor is odd to say the least, and I couldn't get the hummus smooth no matter how many times I ran it through the processor. It may be that I don't have a powerful enough machine to get the beans as fine as they should be, but this hummus fell way below my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This hummus is definnately worth the time to sprout the beans- very light with all the same great taste as traditional hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I did exactly as it said, and it was nasty. The beans smelled foul after sprouting, and it tasted the same way. I did the boil water, sit for one minute thing and it was still awful. I think I will stick to the cooked chick peas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States