Raw Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
You shouldn't expect this to taste like the store bought, commercial hummus. However, after a certain amount of time this began to taste pretty darn good. When I first made it I was pretty disappointed. After dinner (about an hour later) I re-tasted it and it seemed to me the hummus had had enough time to let all the flavors mix, and the beans to soften some and I can honestly say it tasted good. While it still retained some of the "green" flavor of the sprouts, overall, I give it a 4/5. I also added cumin, black pepper, and some oil to the recipe. Should note that I live in Israel, so it's pretty hard to impress me with a hummus recipe...4/5 is a recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This recipe turned out very dry for me. I added some extra tahini and some olive oil. I think I will go back to my tried and true recipe for hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda
Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I thought this was a wonderful recipe, I followed it as written except I used a sprouting seed combo of Adzuki bean, garbanzo, Mung bean, and snow pea. I did have to modify how much water to add, like 2-3 TBS instead of the 1 cup called for, but very tasty and wonderful on flatbread and crackers. It is a healthy tasty snack. try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
For the reviewer who stated "all hummus is raw"...you are incorrect.Hummus is made from COOKED beans (all canned beans have been cooked prior to canning) in most cases (if not all) which leads to a "Cooked" final product.The natural enzymes in the beans have been modified and altered by the cooking...any temp over 114 degrees F. constitutes "cooked".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Likly-Welch

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is an awesome recipe! It is identical to the hummus that is sold at the local organic grocery store that goes for $3 for about a cups worth! I added roasted red pepper and dried basil to make it roasted red pepper hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I hate submitting negative reviews but no one should waste their precious time and money on this recipe. I followed the directions and did not care for the results. That raw bean taste is just overwhelming and never becomes that nutty velvety deliciousness I have come to know from other hummus recipes. Canned beans or cooked from dried beans produce a result far far superior to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My family enjoyed this. It didn't last the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Elizario, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe! I followed it precisely until the spices part. I added a few extras for my own liking. The best hummus ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I made this 4 or 5 times but it never really turned out for me. Believe me it wasn't for lack of trying. It might be that our food processor isn't strong enough, but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This is the best raw hummus that I've ever had. The dip in the hot water is the key. Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States