Raw Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I thought this was a wonderful recipe, I followed it as written except I used a sprouting seed combo of Adzuki bean, garbanzo, Mung bean, and snow pea. I did have to modify how much water to add, like 2-3 TBS instead of the 1 cup called for, but very tasty and wonderful on flatbread and crackers. It is a healthy tasty snack. try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
For the reviewer who stated "all hummus is raw"...you are incorrect.Hummus is made from COOKED beans (all canned beans have been cooked prior to canning) in most cases (if not all) which leads to a "Cooked" final product.The natural enzymes in the beans have been modified and altered by the cooking...any temp over 114 degrees F. constitutes "cooked".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Likly-Welch

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is an awesome recipe! It is identical to the hummus that is sold at the local organic grocery store that goes for $3 for about a cups worth! I added roasted red pepper and dried basil to make it roasted red pepper hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I hate submitting negative reviews but no one should waste their precious time and money on this recipe. I followed the directions and did not care for the results. That raw bean taste is just overwhelming and never becomes that nutty velvety deliciousness I have come to know from other hummus recipes. Canned beans or cooked from dried beans produce a result far far superior to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My family enjoyed this. It didn't last the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Elizario, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe! I followed it precisely until the spices part. I added a few extras for my own liking. The best hummus ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I made this 4 or 5 times but it never really turned out for me. Believe me it wasn't for lack of trying. It might be that our food processor isn't strong enough, but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This is the best raw hummus that I've ever had. The dip in the hot water is the key. Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is actually the recipe that led me to this site a couple of years ago. I didn't love this as is, but I'll keep working with it, now that I have more experience making hummus. For those concerned with the safety of eating this: It's absolutely safe, and it's better for you than "cooked" hummus because it's easier to digest. The problem with the funky smell could have come from your sprouting method. Beans need to be sprouted in a large jar with a mesh or cheesecloth lid, lying on its side (so the beans are spread out) in a dark but well-ventilated area. If yours were moldy, it could have been because there was not enough air getting to them. As for the question of whether this is raw: It's raw because the beans are not cooked; "regular" hummus uses cooked beans and is therefore not raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Next time I plan to use less garlic and lemon. Plus I will cook those chickpeas longer. 1min of cooking left them still kind of hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States