Raw Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
For the reviewer who stated "all hummus is raw"...you are incorrect.Hummus is made from COOKED beans (all canned beans have been cooked prior to canning) in most cases (if not all) which leads to a "Cooked" final product.The natural enzymes in the beans have been modified and altered by the cooking...any temp over 114 degrees F. constitutes "cooked".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Likly-Welch

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is an awesome recipe! It is identical to the hummus that is sold at the local organic grocery store that goes for $3 for about a cups worth! I added roasted red pepper and dried basil to make it roasted red pepper hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I hate submitting negative reviews but no one should waste their precious time and money on this recipe. I followed the directions and did not care for the results. That raw bean taste is just overwhelming and never becomes that nutty velvety deliciousness I have come to know from other hummus recipes. Canned beans or cooked from dried beans produce a result far far superior to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My family enjoyed this. It didn't last the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Elizario, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe! I followed it precisely until the spices part. I added a few extras for my own liking. The best hummus ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I made this 4 or 5 times but it never really turned out for me. Believe me it wasn't for lack of trying. It might be that our food processor isn't strong enough, but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This is the best raw hummus that I've ever had. The dip in the hot water is the key. Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is actually the recipe that led me to this site a couple of years ago. I didn't love this as is, but I'll keep working with it, now that I have more experience making hummus. For those concerned with the safety of eating this: It's absolutely safe, and it's better for you than "cooked" hummus because it's easier to digest. The problem with the funky smell could have come from your sprouting method. Beans need to be sprouted in a large jar with a mesh or cheesecloth lid, lying on its side (so the beans are spread out) in a dark but well-ventilated area. If yours were moldy, it could have been because there was not enough air getting to them. As for the question of whether this is raw: It's raw because the beans are not cooked; "regular" hummus uses cooked beans and is therefore not raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Next time I plan to use less garlic and lemon. Plus I will cook those chickpeas longer. 1min of cooking left them still kind of hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I made this recipe as is and I have to say not only is it not worth the effort, I question the safety of eating it. I let the beans sit to sprout and within a few hours they began to get a funky smell. This funky smell continued to get stronger despite rinsing the beans twice a day. When they had fully sprouted several of the beans were actually moldy. We decided to make it anyway and even after submerging the beans in hot water the funky smell continued (we did remove the obviously modly beans). The taste is...well it's very sharp and sour. I don't think this is because of the lemon. We're going to eat it (because we don't like to throw things out) but we do have concerns as to whether or not its actually safe to eat. To make it taste more editible we had to add lots of cumin, more garlic and salt. And we had to add about twice the water to make it close to smooth. Oh, and it also blew out the motor on the blender we were making it in. And it was a Vita Mix $400 blender. Recipe not recommended at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States