Raw Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Very, very good! My husband even said it was "comparable" to his "incomparable" favorite from a restaurant. Cannot stress enough the importance of the hot water dip; soaking beans leaves a bitter coating on the outside, and nothing else will wash it off. I actually sloshed my sprouts around in the hot water for five full minutes, which probably defeats the purpose of "raw," but I don't care. The sprouting alone increases the beans' nutrition and digestibility dramatically as it is. Also, the barely-cooked beans can make a grittier hummus if your food processor is not so snazzy. I used my blender and it was perfectly smooth and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Excellent taste. Never having tried a four-day recipe before, I enjoyed this, and let the beans sit in a 8 by 8 brownie pan for their sprouting, with plastic wrap over them. I spotted one moldy offender on the last day, so ventilation is important, and I will omit the plastic wrap next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lazy Caprese

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Okay, so you might have to work with this a bit but it is so worth it! I've made a lot of hummus and this is one of the best recipes (super extra points for me for being sprouted as it's healthier!). Definitely don't leave the sprouts too long or in too small a container or they'll ferment. Wash them at LEAST twice a day. I started in a food processor but it wasn't getting smooth. I poured it into the blender and added more water until it was blending smoothly. I also did a bit less lemon and a tad extra tahini. Letting it sit really gives a chance for the flavors to come together- even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Do not try to use canned beans instead of raw ones - the water/bean ratio is off and you end up with major trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Love this recipe. I have made recipe several times. I have never had any problems with anything smelling moldy or bad. Perhaps those reviewers had bad/old garbanzo beans to begin with. I have to admit that I usually make hummus from canned garbanzo beans as it is faster and easier, but this recipe is by far my favorite when I have the time. I add different things to flavor it differently. Roasted red pepper is a favorite additive. Artichoke hearts and lots of garlic is another favorite of mine. I mix all the ingredients except for the water and add it last only as needed. If the texture still isn't right, I will add a little extra virgin olive oil. I also usually add some ground cumin for more flavor. As a garlic lover, I seldom only add 4 cloves of garlic - usually I add a lot more (about double that).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I loved this whole idea. Sprouting was a blast. I let my sprouts grow to about 3/4 inch, then placed in refrigerator. They grew in the fridge too. I made two batches, one without placing in hot water, and one with. The truly raw hummus did indeed have a very green taste, once the sprouts were ground in. The other hummus (beans placed in the boiled water) was not as strong at all. Some of us ate the raw version (poor baby didn't have a choice :)) and the others much preferred the one according to recipe. Great idea, will do again, if just to sprout beans for snacking! P.S. Flavor-wise, the raw sprouted beans taste like fresh green beans, and the heated-sprouted ones tasted just like corn on the cob to us! Really! 12/4/10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This is definitely the best recipe I have found of raw hummus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hampus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This recipe was very time-consuming, labor-intensive, and it came out bland. It says to add 4 cloves of garlic - I added 7 and it still tasted too bland. Oh, and it burned out the motor in my food processor. Boo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
It is sooooooooo healthy for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is good! It was worth making garbanzo bean sprouts for! Some of the beans had started to ferment, but the hummus was delicious. I figured that I eat sauerkraut (fermented cabbage), so I could go along with fermented beans! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States