Raw Apple Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
I love this recipe! It is so easy, pretty much just put everything together and bake! The hardest part is waiting the hour! I get asked for the recipe every time I make this. It is great to make in small loaf pans and given as gifts. We like to eat it for breakfast too. I even cheat and use reconstituted dehydrated apples and it is still wonderful. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I was skeptical because I don't really like apples, but my husband loves them. I substituted Splenda for the 2 cups of sugar and 1/2c of applesauce for the 1/2c of oil. It turned out great! I might make carmel glaze next time to drizzel over the top. Ok I made it again and this time I used 1/2 apples and 1/2 pears. WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RueBarbe
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This was tasty and moist. I used 1/2 cup oil + 1 cup unsweetened applesauce (and Spartan apples). I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Maybe I did something wrong, but I checked the recipe like 4 times, but this cake didn't stay together. It completely fell apart. And it was too sweet. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleRenee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Very moist. I decreased to oil to 1/2c. and added cinnamon applesauce. I think that made the texture better. It also makes it a little more on the healthy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliann11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Quick Easy Big Surprise! Thank you. (from Hong Kong)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Cooked twice NEVER came out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
My husband requested I make pound cake, but all I had was self rising flour. An ingredient search lead me to this pound cake, and I was suspicious. However, after tasting the results I can't wait to make another batch and give the cake as gifts! It's absolutely delicious. I took the advice of some other reviewers and used 1 cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup of oil. I also used 2 large diced apples and 1 large diced red pear. I'm going to make it again and try replacing the sugar with splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Loved this recipe thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Very good, made a little change, only 1 3/4 cups sugar, also added about 4 oz. of apple sauce that made it very moist. Served it with fresh whipped cream & it was delecious. Have shared recipe & it always goes over quite well. - A KEEPER for sure. MJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States