Raw Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Great cake. I used apple sauce, since I usually do and didn't frost with the cream cheese. Everyone loved it and I am going to make it again today. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Hi there, Ohhh thankyou for having this on line! My grandmother, then mother, then I have been baking this cake for ever! I like to use Brown sugar and Graventine apples. Truth is, you can change around the sugars, and use just about any apple. I tried it with peaches one year..OMG yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This cake is excellent! It has great flavour & a dense texture. Took it to work & it got raves. It definitely doesn't need the frosting, but whipped cream or vanilla icecream would be a good choice if you're serving this cake warm. I've been baking for over 40 yrs & I've never ever had a cake batter that was this thick! I literally had to mix it & press it into the pan with my bare hands! Weird but sooo tasty! I made the following minor changes to it: - used 1 c of whole wheat flour & 1 1/2 of white - used 1 c of brown sugar & 1 c of white - added 2 Tbsp ground flax seed - increased apples to 4 c
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaLoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I have made this recipe a number of times, and it always disappears very quickly. I use half of the amount of sugar, and find it to be plenty sweet. I also have used various varieties of apples, with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Love it with all the apple flavor and texture! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Fabulous! The cake was delicious. So good that I am going to make it again, something I rarely do. The frosting is not needed, and I think it would take away from the wonderful cake itself. I expected the cake to last about one week, but my family gobbled it up in a few days! This cake is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is easy and awesome! Great without frosting and with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
had a distinct baking soda taste, which is not a good thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. My family loved it. It was so moist and delicious. The only changes I made were that I substituted half the oil for applesauce, added a couple tablespoons of ground flax seed, and added 1/2 cup each of walnuts and raisins. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Holy cow this is delicious! Instead of finely chopping the red delicious apples (was out of Granny Smith), I chopped them coarsely and added them, with grapeseed oil, to a blender and got a coarse puree. Baked in a cast iron baking dish, which reduced the baking time a bit, and the cake came out light (i.e., not dense), incredibly flavorful, and moist. Instead of the icing, we served with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream, but the CC icing recipe reads like a standard. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States