Ravishing Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
I would cook the cake for 25 minutes if using two 9" rounds. I cooked it for 30 and it was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
This was as good as "grandmas". After creaming the shorting and sugar I blended the remainder of the cake ingredients by hand and it was fabulous. Very moist. Perfect. I took it to a party at work and my coworkers all got a copy of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
I'm really not a baker, but I just had to try this recipe, and boy did I get compliments! Now I'll try something new in the oven. Thanks Lynne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gaston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
Great! I make it with green colouring because I am allergic to red. Gets some funny looks (from adults) at first, but it gets eaten right up! Great w/cream cheese frosting. Dye to match!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
I enjoyed making this cake. My family really liked it too. Hazel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This is a really good recipe, exactly what I was looking for! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon Leuschner
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
This cake is fantastic! I had used another Red Velvet cake recipe from my church cookbook for years, but it always seemed to bake too dry. The only difference between this cake and the one I have is the added shortening and the butter flavoring, but that was enough to really make a beautiful product! This is one of my families favorite desserts and this one will now become the recipe I use to make it:) A previous poster said to check the cake after 20 minutes and that is a good idea. Also, if you have a gas oven, I would bake it at 300 to 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Leuschner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
Thanks for such a great recipe! This was my first attempt at making a red velvet cake. This recipe resulted in a cake that was "off the hook". My family and I really enjoyed it. I will certainly use this recipe again! I made a few slight modifations such as using butter flavored shortening, baking at 325 degrees (since I used dark colored round pans and I have a gas oven) and I increased the cooking time by an additional 10 minutes (total 40 minutes). I really love the sour cream frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
My kids are too picky to eat a red cake, but everyone else just loved it. The best Red Velvet cake I've ever had, and I'm come from a family of retail bakers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
thanks for everyone who has given my Ravishing Red Velvet cake a chance - I'm sorry to see that some of you did not enjoy your experience. i just thought that i would add a sidenote that i am located in south louisiana, where it is extremely humid - perhaps this could be why some have found the cake to be a bit "dry". here in LA, it is quite moist and delicious! perhaps an adjustment to baking time & temp would help for you guys? thanks again! julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieDugas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States