Ravishing Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
thanks for everyone who has given my Ravishing Red Velvet cake a chance - I'm sorry to see that some of you did not enjoy your experience. i just thought that i would add a sidenote that i am located in south louisiana, where it is extremely humid - perhaps this could be why some have found the cake to be a bit "dry". here in LA, it is quite moist and delicious! perhaps an adjustment to baking time & temp would help for you guys? thanks again! julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieDugas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Both my husband and I love red velvet cake, however I'm disappointed by the end results for this recipe. I'm puzzled why this recipe calls for butter extract and not vanilla extract. The frosting is okay -and perfectly acceptable on a carrot cake or spice cake, but after years of reviewing red velvet cakes, it is a fact that the only frosting that should even be used is a Butter roux frosting (similiar to a butter cream frosting but the butter roux frosting is a cooked frosting) I appreciate your sharing the recipe, but I will not be making this cake ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I replaced the shortening and butter extract with 1 stick of butter and added vanilla extract to the cake mix. Very moist. Frosting is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This was the best cake in the whole world. I followed the receipe exactly and watched my oven very, very closely. I took this cake to my job, which is a restuarant, it was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by islandgirlejfan
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
This cake is fantastic! I had used another Red Velvet cake recipe from my church cookbook for years, but it always seemed to bake too dry. The only difference between this cake and the one I have is the added shortening and the butter flavoring, but that was enough to really make a beautiful product! This is one of my families favorite desserts and this one will now become the recipe I use to make it:) A previous poster said to check the cake after 20 minutes and that is a good idea. Also, if you have a gas oven, I would bake it at 300 to 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
Thanks for such a great recipe! This was my first attempt at making a red velvet cake. This recipe resulted in a cake that was "off the hook". My family and I really enjoyed it. I will certainly use this recipe again! I made a few slight modifations such as using butter flavored shortening, baking at 325 degrees (since I used dark colored round pans and I have a gas oven) and I increased the cooking time by an additional 10 minutes (total 40 minutes). I really love the sour cream frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I tried this recipe expecting a delicious homemade red velvet cake. Well the cake was red and that's about it. It was dry and void of flavor. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This cake came out so good!! I've never made a cake from "scratch" and was a little nervous because it was for a friend's birthday. I was the hit of the party. Thanks for the great recipe. Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This recipe was FABULOUS!! I had rave reviews. I did add the extra 1/2 cup of sugar, but other than that followed the recipe and it turned out wonderfully. I didn't sift the flour though, and it didn't seem to present a problem. The only other tip I have was that you HAVE to mix the 2nd part of ingredients in a separate bowl. I tried it out twice and the 1st time, I just added the vinegar, baking soda, ect to the already mixed ingredents and it started fizzing and popping like a science fair project. (I was trying to be quick and make less of a mess and wasn't thinking!) Anyway, it turned out good, but the 2nd time I made them they were even better! I took them to work and they were inhaled. They were very moist and the frosting recipe is a winner also, I will no longer buy store bought frosting!! Thanks for the great recipe, I am in IL, I am not sure why so many people had difficulties with this, it's AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEGGYMOMMA64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ladd, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2000
I found the cake to be quite costly, and dry. I'm more interested in the moist mouth watering desserts. I did find the icing was delicious and I plan to use the recipe for the icing on another cake. That's what I get for not taking the time to pick a good recipe and just choosing the first one on the list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S_DARROUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States