Ravishing Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
I make this cake all the time for my husband, son, and coworkers I do our christmas party every year. And the one thing I am always asked is am I making that red cake. This is about the 3rd recipe I have tried for this and it is by far the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This cake came out so good!! I've never made a cake from "scratch" and was a little nervous because it was for a friend's birthday. I was the hit of the party. Thanks for the great recipe. Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
This is a great cake, I've made it a few times and shared it with most of my friends and they all love it. On Valentines day it fits right in with its color, and other times i's just plaib good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
The cake I made was dry. I even took it out of the oven a little early. Everyone I worked with loved it, they raved about the icing (thought it was store bought, Ha)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
I have never had a red velvet cake before in my life but I wanted to do something different and was very intruiged by this concept. While the cake went over very well with about 20 guests at a party, I didn't care for it. There was something very unpleasant about the texture and the taste (although I may just not be a "red velvet person"). I even used 3 Tbs of cocoa. I think I will try this again and follow some other reviewers' suggestions to use 1 c oil (instead of the 1/2 cup butter) and 2 c sugar. I have to say, it did make for a gorgeous presentation. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This was the best cake in the whole world. I followed the receipe exactly and watched my oven very, very closely. I took this cake to my job, which is a restuarant, it was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
thanks for everyone who has given my Ravishing Red Velvet cake a chance - I'm sorry to see that some of you did not enjoy your experience. i just thought that i would add a sidenote that i am located in south louisiana, where it is extremely humid - perhaps this could be why some have found the cake to be a bit "dry". here in LA, it is quite moist and delicious! perhaps an adjustment to baking time & temp would help for you guys? thanks again! julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Dugas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
No no no. This cake was not good. It was very dry and I only baked it at 350. It was very pasty tasting. Maybe it was me, but I won't make this again. Thanks for the opportunity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
I tried the Red Velvet Cake for the first time, and although the cream cheese icing was delicious, I thought the cake was a little dry and not a lot of flavor. I first baked it for 25 min and the middle was not done, but 30 seemed to dry it out. Thanks for the experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States