Ravishing Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
My attempt at this cake was a little dense, but it was still a great hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
YUMMY! Turned out so wonderful my boyfriend and I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I searched for over an hour and read ALL the reviews of ALL the red velvet cakes on this site and a few others. I was very disappointed in the results. The cake was dry and tasteless. The icing was delicious, but not enough to make up for the cake itself. I guess I will have to try another red velvet recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Delicious cake! For those if you who didn't like it I don't think it was the recipe that was the problem but the chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Great icing, but the rest is not a keeper. Good color, the flavor isnt good, and the cake is very heavy and dry. I read the other reviews that said it was dry and thought they just overcooked it. I realize now it is the recipe itself. Takes effort and time for a cake that isnt worth it. Try something else, but keep the icing portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNRAY9177

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
The cake came out absolutely wonderful. I used the suggestion of using 1 cup of oil and 2 cups of sugar. I also baked it at 300 for 40-45 minutes and it was super moist. The icing was delicious and also came out perfect. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I made this cake yesterday for an office potluck. The batter appeared very dry so I added two egg whites and some veg oil. I also did not have butter extract so substituted with some real butter and left out some of the shortening. Everyone loved it but I still think that it was missing something, possibly the butter extract. I will make this again. The icing was excellent !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This cake was fantastic! The flavor was addictive and the cake was nice and moist. It was a big hit with everyone who tried it; this will definitely be one I make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABAADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
I make this cake all the time for my husband, son, and coworkers I do our christmas party every year. And the one thing I am always asked is am I making that red cake. This is about the 3rd recipe I have tried for this and it is by far the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States