Ravishing Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This cake was very good! I don't see why there is so many bad reviews on it. It was wonderful to me. Maybe others are not making it right. I made it for a Ohio State game party b/c there colors are red and grey. Even though the cake was red and creamy white it still turned out great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I loved the frosting, but my cake turned out heavy and blah. It may just be how this type of cake is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, Texas, USA
Living In: Clifton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I replaced the shortening and butter extract with 1 stick of butter and added vanilla extract to the cake mix. Very moist. Frosting is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Not a bad recipe, just not quite as moist as I would have liked. This may be due to the fact that I used an 8" Heart shaped pan and the middle took longer to cook then I though it would. The frosting though was a keeper. Both the wife and I thought the butter cream taste was just right. Worth a try as it was not very hard at all to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Both my husband and I love red velvet cake, however I'm disappointed by the end results for this recipe. I'm puzzled why this recipe calls for butter extract and not vanilla extract. The frosting is okay -and perfectly acceptable on a carrot cake or spice cake, but after years of reviewing red velvet cakes, it is a fact that the only frosting that should even be used is a Butter roux frosting (similiar to a butter cream frosting but the butter roux frosting is a cooked frosting) I appreciate your sharing the recipe, but I will not be making this cake ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I tried this recipe expecting a delicious homemade red velvet cake. Well the cake was red and that's about it. It was dry and void of flavor. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I found this recipe easy to follow and it turned out wonderful. The cake was moist and had great texture. I didn't use as much red food coloring and had to use milk with vinegar in place of buttermilk. Making sure the flour is sifted may be the key to getting the right consistency. I would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
My Grandmother, now 87, always made us a red velvet cake on our birthdays. She is now in poor health, so I made one for my brother for his birthday this month using this recipe. The only change I made was to add pecans to the icing. He said it was as good as Grandma's, which is quite a compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This is a wonderful cake! It is moist and delicious. It holds a place in my recipe box. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I don't underdstand the bad reviews for this cake! Everytime I've made it over the years since I first discovered it, it has been a hit, a SENSATION! Everybody knows to come to Dena when they want a red velvet cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States