Ravishing Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Best Red Velvet cake if your a yankee then you may not like our southern style!! Julie i am from northeast louisiana and this is the same recipe i use with exception of extract i use vanilla. i got this recipe from a friends grandma!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
i've only tasted the cake so far because i'm using a different frosting recipe, but i thought the cake was wonderful! it's not dry at all. i made them into cupcakes because i have 2 little ones and we're having company over tonight. i didn't want to bother with having to cut a cake. thanks for the recipe! i'll use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made this for my daughter's birthday cake. It was my first attempt at a homemade cake vs box cake. Everyone loved it. It was a little dry, but I think that was my fault. I checked it at 20 minutes and instead of 10 more, it should have only been 5 more minutes. I didn't have butter extract so I used butter flavored shortening. I would like to try again, keeping a better eye on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
First of all, I will start by saying I felt the icing was phenomenal. I added pecans and decorated the cake with pecans. The cake however was very dry and disappointing compared to many many red velvet cakes I've had in the past. It was very close to tasting like a box cake instead of from scratch. I even followed the suggestion of lowering the heat and that made no difference. I suggest that this recipe undergo some tweaking. Maybe add butter.. not sure. I must find a better recipe than this. Do not make cake if you are expecting moist red velvet cake! It was more like red gabardine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I made this cake and it turned out beautifully. I didn't have any buttermilk on hand so had to use a buttermilk substitute but it still turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I made the cake only for my daughter's confirmation. It was lovely with my white decorator's icing. I thought the cake was a little bit dry. I may have overbaked it just slightly, maybe five minutes less in the oven. It wasn't overly sweet with just a slight chocolate flavor. I'll definitely use this cake again. I want to try it as a cake roll with the frosting recipe included next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I am going to try cake flour, it really make's a difference. I never thought it would but finally tried it on a different cake and it was wonderful I will let you know how it turn's out. I made it yesterday and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jihan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Red velvet is my husband's favorite. I made this recipe for his birthday and it he LOVED it. Now I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This recipe was FABULOUS!! I had rave reviews. I did add the extra 1/2 cup of sugar, but other than that followed the recipe and it turned out wonderfully. I didn't sift the flour though, and it didn't seem to present a problem. The only other tip I have was that you HAVE to mix the 2nd part of ingredients in a separate bowl. I tried it out twice and the 1st time, I just added the vinegar, baking soda, ect to the already mixed ingredents and it started fizzing and popping like a science fair project. (I was trying to be quick and make less of a mess and wasn't thinking!) Anyway, it turned out good, but the 2nd time I made them they were even better! I took them to work and they were inhaled. They were very moist and the frosting recipe is a winner also, I will no longer buy store bought frosting!! Thanks for the great recipe, I am in IL, I am not sure why so many people had difficulties with this, it's AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEGGYMOMMA64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ladd, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Great Cake. I am notorious for over baking and it was still pretty moist and delicious! Instead of buying buttermilk, I added a tbs of vinegar to regular milkas. It worked out great. Also, instead of getting butter flavor, I used butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States