Ravishing Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Very dry and crumbly will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Okay, I have made it once before and was disappointed, tried it twice tonight and still no such luck. No matter if I take it out earlier or not, it's still a dry cake. Am I not doing something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki LaFroscia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I had never even heard of Red Velvet cake before until a friend asked for it for his birthday. I decided to try this one and it came out beauteous. I followed the recipe exactly and the cake was so pretty. I used the recipe for whipped cream cheese frosting instead and my friend was super happy about his birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was very good and pretty. I made it for my boyfriend's birthday. He loved it! I used a bundt cake pan. Had to cook a little longer that way. A couple of people said it could be a little moister. The taste was GREAT! I added chopped pecans to the icing! Otherwise I didn't change anything. Everyone raved over this caked, especially the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Shelton Frazier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Cake was okay, but I really think the frosting saved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessallison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I gave this 3 stars, but only because of the icing. The cake came out dry and heavy. The icing however was very yummy. I used my mixer and beat it for about 10 minutes, it came out light and fluffy and tasted rich and creamy. I will look for a better cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICGODDESS36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I have made many Red Velvet Cakes and this one is as good as any I have made in the past. It is very moist and yummy. I might make more icing next time, but is very rich, so less is okay too. I went strictly by the recipe and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this cake for my boyfriends birthday(it's his favorite). I was a little nervous because I had never made red velvet cake before, but it turned out very well. I only used one 9 inch pan. And the icing was wonderful, not too sweet, just right. Overall, it is a wonderful recipe and I will continue to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moriahvg

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is a good basic recipe; I'm from LA, but currently living in desert clime, so your location may make a difference in certain recipes---if you live in a dry climate, I suggest the following changes: reduce flour by 1/4 c, replace shortening with veg oil, and add two tsp vanilla extract. These changes may make this recipe a winner for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States