Ravishing Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Okay, I have made it once before and was disappointed, tried it twice tonight and still no such luck. No matter if I take it out earlier or not, it's still a dry cake. Am I not doing something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bexy1234

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I had never even heard of Red Velvet cake before until a friend asked for it for his birthday. I decided to try this one and it came out beauteous. I followed the recipe exactly and the cake was so pretty. I used the recipe for whipped cream cheese frosting instead and my friend was super happy about his birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was very good and pretty. I made it for my boyfriend's birthday. He loved it! I used a bundt cake pan. Had to cook a little longer that way. A couple of people said it could be a little moister. The taste was GREAT! I added chopped pecans to the icing! Otherwise I didn't change anything. Everyone raved over this caked, especially the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Cake was okay, but I really think the frosting saved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessallison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I gave this 3 stars, but only because of the icing. The cake came out dry and heavy. The icing however was very yummy. I used my mixer and beat it for about 10 minutes, it came out light and fluffy and tasted rich and creamy. I will look for a better cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICGODDESS36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I have made many Red Velvet Cakes and this one is as good as any I have made in the past. It is very moist and yummy. I might make more icing next time, but is very rich, so less is okay too. I went strictly by the recipe and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this cake for my boyfriends birthday(it's his favorite). I was a little nervous because I had never made red velvet cake before, but it turned out very well. I only used one 9 inch pan. And the icing was wonderful, not too sweet, just right. Overall, it is a wonderful recipe and I will continue to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moriahvg

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is a good basic recipe; I'm from LA, but currently living in desert clime, so your location may make a difference in certain recipes---if you live in a dry climate, I suggest the following changes: reduce flour by 1/4 c, replace shortening with veg oil, and add two tsp vanilla extract. These changes may make this recipe a winner for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Best Red Velvet cake if your a yankee then you may not like our southern style!! Julie i am from northeast louisiana and this is the same recipe i use with exception of extract i use vanilla. i got this recipe from a friends grandma!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States