Ravishing Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bertha Gutierrez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This turned out great! I didn't have cocoa powder so I improvised with a packet of chocolate pudding mix instead and it turned out well. Works great as cupcakes, and the icing is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was very easy to do and it turned out delicous and MOIST!! I used butter flavored shortening and left out the butter extract. Then while the cakes were still warm I covered them with foil which held in moisture. Also keep a keep close on your time baking b/c every oven is different people. I don't know why everyone is having a hard time, this was Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Made this for Chrissy & Bernie's engagement cake - nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Wade
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Hello, I was using this recipe to show my class the importance of following a recipe! We havent tried it so once we do I will make my review official! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I have never made a red velvet cake before, and I was really excited to make it for the first time.. However, this cake was very dry.. It tasted good, other than it being so dry. The icing was amazing! But it was too runny. I added more powdered sugar (about a cup or so) to it a little at a time until it was the right thickness, and it turned out perfect. I'll be using the recipe for the icing again, but not the cake. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrygal9009

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I have been a professional cake baker and decorator for about 30 years now. I find that when people complain about their dry cakes, it's because they really are over baking them.. My aunt used to make choc. cake when I was a girl. I hated dry choc cake. After I learned not to over baken, they are great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettycrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
when my friend and I baked this we were so excited after a failed attempt at another recipe. I am sorry to say that when we made it we found we either did it wrong or it called for too much flower. We chose #2. I suggest adding less flower. Other than that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Yummy as a cake or cupcakes (mine made 2 1/2 dozen plus one cupcake for a crumble using the 12 serving recipe & icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Quitta
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This was my first cake ever from scratch, my experience with other peoples home made cakes had me very nervous because they come out very dry and I became very concerned when i started reading reviews after i had stuck my cake in the oven about how this recipe sometimes yields a dry cake. I made this as a mothers day cake and it actually came out Very Very moist it was a little thicker than i normally like my cakes preferably a more spongy texture but it was still quite tastey even my mother who can be pretty particular enjoyed it. I would use recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States