Ravioli Dolci (Sweet Ravioli) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
For those who had problems with the dough becoming sticky once it was out of the freezer/fridge, if possible, I roll mine out on a chilled marble board that stay naturally cold. Another trick is after rolling both layers out, add the filling, place the second layer of dough on top and using a pizza cutter, run it between each section. Hope this helps...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe. I use Blueberry preserves. I definitely don't think it makes 64 cookies, but it's plenty :-). Again, amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I must have did something wrong, with all the good ratings with mine turning out how it did I messed something up bigtime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ber_Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I gave this five stars because the finished product is fabulous and so tasty! I made this in two batches and I made the first batch as directed. It was a little messy and hard to work with, so here are some simple changes that worked great on the second batch. (The key is not to touch the dough too much after it is chilled.) After the dough is mixed, separate into two balls. Refrigerate for at least an hour. After dough is sufficiently chilled, remove one ball from the refrigerator, place between two sheets of wax paper, and roll till it's fairly thin. Peel one piece of paper off this layer. Draw out a grid pattern on this layer with a knife. Don't slice through the dough; just press enough to make lines. Place 1/2 tsp of preserves or nutella in each grid section. Set aside or place back in refrigerator. Remove second dough ball from refrigerator and roll between two pieces of wax paper to same thickness as the first layer. Take one piece of wax paper off the second layer, then GENTLY turn the layer over and place on top of the first layer. Remove the wax paper from the top layer. Cut the cookies between the filling plops, this time cutting all the way through. GENTLY turn the cookies over and place on the greased cookie sheet. Peel off the final piece of wax paper, separate cookies, and seal with fork tines. Sprinkle with sugar and bake as directed. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Good cookies, even if Ravioli Dolci -I'm Italian- are quite different. Try filling them with Nutella mixed with ricotta cheese. Also, once you've rolled and refrigerated your dough, remove top wax paper and lay spoonfuls of filling in straight lines and set intervals on top of first -uncut- dough layer. Remove top wax paper from second dough layer and flip it on top of first one. THEN cut squares or circles. Don't forget the vent holes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Oh man, this recipe is one of the hardest I have ever made! Rolling the dough was incredibly difficult, forming the cookies even more difficult... wow! I'm not sure this is worth the effort for what you get and that's saying something since I often make cakes that take 3+ hours to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very good! Had many compliments from my Italian relatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Great cookies. A little time consuming, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anita Louise McKennon-Paxton
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My family loved these cookies. I used my own cherry almond preserves. These cookies are just perfect for the Christmas table. The dough is easier to work with when kept chilled. I made both round and square shapes. If the dough becomes too soft, simply put it in the fridge for a few minutes. I even put the squares (still on the waxed paper) back on a shelf in the fridge while I filled half a sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Louise McKennon-Paxton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Very good tasting cookie. Kind of shortbread like. The dough is difficult to work with, but I found that by rolling it out between the wax paper and then putting it in the freezer, the squares were much easier to work with. I filled mine with blackberry preserves and dusted them with powdered sugar. Others I filed with the cream cheese filling from the bakery and then drizzled those finished squares with chocolate. Very pretty and will be enjoyed by all. I will say that you only get about half of the amount the recipe is supposed to yield and I didn't make them huge. I'll make these again, only this time I know what I'm getting into. Merry Christmas and thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States