Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Fantastic!! I've never made a coconut cake and this one came out Great. I made it for my son's 33rd birthday and took it to his office. It was a Hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I did not have the pudding so I added a liile confectionary sugar amd vanilla with an additional egg yolk and it was delicious Next time I will reduce coconut in the cake to one cup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mystic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made this four times already! It's fantastic! Followed the recipe step by step....so easy. Toasted the coconut a little longer to give more of a crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I made it, for grandson to take for concession at school, Got rave reviews, so had to make one for home, First time I've made a recipe that looked even better then the picture. I did double the recipe, and the frosting. Tonight I used the same recipe only used Choc Cake, made it for my grandmother's 98 birthday tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This is one tough cake to make unless you have a talent for baking! It was a task putting it together but got rave reviews on the taste.....just looked a little lopsided!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I used a white cake mix and coconut pudding to help add to the coconut flavor. I also added some coconut milk to the water called for in the recipe. Everyone loved the cake. I used another frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
DELICIOUS! I've tried lots of recipes, and this is by far the best! It was gone the first day I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
made this recipe for my dad who has a very harsh opinion on everything and he LOVED this cake!!!! said it reminded him of the way his grandmother use to make her coconut cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The first time I made this cake, I followed the recipe exactly with the exception on correcting the error on step 4 and only used 2 tbls butter to cook the coconut. The cake was good, but you have to double the up on the frosting to cover three layers and the frosting was extremely rich. The second time I made a few changes and it turned out great! First off I went with a 13x9 sheet cake instead of layers. I toasted 2 cups of coconut on a cookie sheet for 10 minutes before adding it to the batter. I left out the walnuts, and went with 1/3 cup of oil instead of 1/4 cup. I used a regular white cake mix (not the butter recipe kind) instead of yellow and used 3 jumbo eggs. For the frosting, I went with two 8oz packages of cream cheese, but cut the sugar back to only 3 cups. That made a perfect amount to cover the cake and was still plenty sweet. You might want to microwave the cream cheese for about 30 seconds to get it nice and soft and easy to blend. Add the sugar a little bit at a time. It took 40 minutes at 350 degrees in a dark coated cake pan. Everybody loved the cake. It disappeared in nothing flat! It was super moist and not too crumbly at all. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States