Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe - Allrecipes.com
Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe

Rave Reviews Coconut Cake

Recipe by  

"A wonderful moist coconut cake perfect for birthday parties. Walnuts and pecans are interchangeable in this recipe."

Back
Next
+ Recipe Box + Shopping List + Menu Print

Ingredients Edit and Save

Original recipe makes 1 -8 or 9 inch layer cake Change Servings

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour three 8 or 9 inch round cake pans.
  2. Blend the cake mix, pudding mix, water, eggs and oil in a large mixing bowl. Beat at medium speed for 4 minutes. Stir in 2 cups of the coconut and the chopped walnuts. Pour the batter into the prepared pans.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 35 minutes. Let cakes cool in pans for 15 minutes then remove and finish cooling on rack.
  4. To Make Frosting: Melt the butter or margarine in a skillet. Add the 2 cups flaked coconut and stir constantly over low heat until golden brown. Spread coconut on absorbent paper to cool.
  5. Cream the remaining 2 tablespoons butter or margarine with the cream cheese. Add the milk and confectioners' sugar alternately, beating well. Add the vanilla and stir in 1 3/4 cups of the toasted coconut.
  6. To Assemble Cake: Spread tops of cooled cake layers with some of the frosting. Stack them and then frost the sides of the cake. Sprinkle Cake with the remaining toasted coconut.
Kitchen-Friendly View
ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews More Reviews

Most Helpful Positive Review
Jan 15, 2007

Good but there's an error in the recipe. The first step that uses butter should say to melt only half the butter to fry the coconut - it doesn't say that but later says use the remaining butter. Don't mess up this step otherwise you'll have really greasy coconut. I had to drain mine twice on papertowels. Otherwise, it was good. The frosting didn't make as much as I would have liked so I'd double the frosting.

 
Most Helpful Critical Review
Sep 30, 2003

Sorry to have to give this recipe its first bad review...there must be something REALLY wrong with one or more of the ingredient measurements or the amount of time to bake. Both the cake and the frosting were a disaster. I only deviated from the recipe in that I omitted the nuts. The cake was nowhere near fully baked after 35 minutes - I had to put it in again for about another 20 minutes at least...and then it was super crumbly. I think there was too much egg in the batter. The frosting was impossible to spread smoothly, which made the crumbly cake fall apart even more! In hindsight, this is not too surprising - there is not much of anything moist added to the cream cheese in order to give it a cake-frosting consistency. I am not a novice baker, so I probably should have followed my instincts a little more, but I guess I was fooled by all the glowing reviews this recipe recieved. No one said they changed anything. I have a hard time believing that following this recipe exactly could yield a good cake...anyway, there are a lot of other coconut cake recipes out there, so next time I'll try a different one!

 
Dec 03, 2006

This cake is very good!! But... I did make a couple of changes. I used 3 Jumbo eggs, 1/3 cup oil, and omitted the walnuts. I toasted the coconut in a 350 degree oven for about 10 mins before adding to the cake mixture. Also, a couple of points the recipe does not point out.... The 4 Tbsp. of butter is divided 2 Tbsp for the toasting of the frosting coconut & 2 Tbsp for mixing in the frosting itself. I used 2 round non-stick dark cake pans and one regular round cake pan. The non-stick dark layers were a bit overdone at 30 MINUTES and the regular pan was perfect. So, be sure to watch your cakes closely as 35 mins seemed too long when you are dividing the cake mix into 3 round cake pans. As for the frosting, it's very yummy, but I had to add 1/2 a can of vanilla frosting to make enough for the whole cake. Next time I will 1 1/2 the recipe! You will not be disappointed, just be sure to watch your baking time!! YUMMY!!

 
Mar 29, 2004

This cake is wonderful! I substituted coconut cream pudding mix for the vanilla and coco loco coconut milk for one cup of the water. I actually forgot to add the vegetable oil. It was so delicious. I don't care for coconut much but the toasted coconut was wonderful! My niece said it was the best cake she'd ever eaten.

 
Nov 19, 2007

I scaled this recipe down (from the original 12 to 9), which was the perfect amount to make 12 standard size cupcakes. I baked them at 350 for 20 to 25 minutes and they turned out great - just make sure to bake until the tops are dry, although the cake will seem firm when the top is still sticky. I'm a pastry chef and I work for a cupcake exclusive bakery in Austin, TX so I suppose this is kind of my specialty. As for the cake mix, if you don't have a box of cake mix then you can always make your own using "Cake Mixes from Scratch" recipe on this site. Half of that recipe will be just enough. As for the icing, it is absolutely divine, but it needs to be refrigerated for 10-15 minutes before you use it. Toasting the coconut was a lot less complicated that it's made out to be. I put it on medium heat and just kept the coconut moving the entire time, and then I poured it out of the pan onto a paper plate with some napkins. Make sure your cakes are completely cooled before you try to ice them, as cream cheese icing is notorious for melting easily. If you get impatient, then just throw them in the fridge for a while like I did - you definitely do NOT have to worry about these drying out. I think the pudding is really the key to all the great moisture, but it makes the texture a bit heavier than a regular cake. Either way, it's a wonderful recipe and a great deviation from the standard variety of cakes.

 
Apr 15, 2007

Amazing cake, but as others have said, not near enough icing. I doubled it the second time I made it and it was gobbled up! Even my husband who fussed that he "didn't really like coconut", ate more than anyone else. Just be sure to double the icing because the recipe will NOT give you enough for 3 layers...even if you are stingy with it.

 
Apr 08, 2007

I made this cake for my two grandkids for Easter. They loved it. I decorated some of the coconut green for the top layer and added chocolate candy eggs, jelly beans, etc. I also filled between the layers with the Pineapple Filling found on this site. With doing this there was plenty of frosting. The cake was really good, but OMG the frosting was wonderful. Please - like others have stated - divide the 4 tablespoons of butter. Two tablespoons for cake and the other two for toasting the coconut. Thanks.

 
Jul 23, 2003

This is moist and flavorful. And like its name, always gets rave reviews. I make this cake occasionally for special functions. Most recently I served it at a baby shower, using Pineapple Filling (on this site from Traci Poole) between the layers. Yummy. Thanks for bringing this great cake to the forefront, Glenda!

 

Rate This Recipe

Glad you liked it! Your friends will, too:
ADVERTISEMENT

Nutrition

  • Calories
  • 693 kcal
  • 35%
  • Carbohydrates
  • 90.9 g
  • 29%
  • Cholesterol
  • 102 mg
  • 34%
  • Fat
  • 34.9 g
  • 54%
  • Fiber
  • 3.6 g
  • 14%
  • Protein
  • 7.7 g
  • 15%
  • Sodium
  • 578 mg
  • 23%

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

See More
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States